Guides: Library Research Help @ Pitt: Databases & Journals

Databases

A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in ULS databases is the high quality, scholarly research information that most professors want. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles. These databases are excellent starting points for your research because they have something on every subject:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books. CredoReference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]

Database Search

Search for or browse databases by subject, type of database, vendor, or title.

Library Databases
This link takes you to a search page for the electronic databases available through the ULS.

E-Journals

E-journals are digitized or born-digital journals, produced by journal publishers. You may want to search within a specific journal if you want to narrow your search pool to articles within a journal focused on a certain discipline or subject area.

E-Journal Search

Search for e-journals and other serials (i.e., magazines, and newspapers) by title, ISSN, or browsing. Use the PittCat Journal Finder that is in the top navigation of PittCat, or run a regular PittCat search.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Library Research Help @ Pitt

Databases by Subject

Databases

Database Search

E-Journals

E-Journal Search