This is the "Home" page of the "RefWorks @ Pitt" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide is designed to help University of Pittsburgh faculty, staff and students get the most out of the RefWorks citation management tool.
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2012 URL: http://pitt.libguides.com/refworks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is RefWorks?

Online citation managers are an easy way to keep track of all of your references. The University Library System supports RefWorks, a tool for importing citations from sources like PITTCat+ and article databases and can automatically integrate them into your research paper and bibliography.

  • RefWorks
    You can also access RefWorks from the Databases A-Z list. Off-campus users must log into the Secure Remote Access portal before accessing RefWorks.
  • Sign Up for RefWorks Training  
      
    Hillman library offers RefWorks training sessions throughout the semester.

Important Links

 

Training & Support

The University Library System offers RefWorks training sessions for University faculty, staff and students.  Each hands-on class is one hour long, and free for all Pitt affiliates.  Class sizes are limited, so please register for a class.

RefWorks Basics classes cover creating an account, searching resources and exporting citations to RefWorks, organizing collections of citations, attaching files to citations, and creating and formatting bibliographies of citations.

Advanced RefWorks classes cover creating citations to Web pages and documents, importing references from Endnote, inserting citations automatically into documents using Write-N-Cite, sharing your citation collections with others using RefShare, and backing up an account.

Sign up for a Training Session:

Oakland Campus Training Sessions

Johnstown Campus Training Sessions

       

      Accessing RefWorks

      The University Library System's subscription to RefWorks gives you free access to RefWorks. Follow the steps below to access your free account. To access your RefWorks account from anywhere outside a Pitt campus, you must first log into the sremote.pitt.edu (see instructions to the right), and then follow the steps below.

      1. Start at the ULS Digital Library at www.library.pitt.edu.
      2. Choose the FIND ARTICLES tab in the upper left.
      3. Find the Locate Databases heading, and select the "by title" link to access the Database A-Z list.
      4. Browse down the Databases A-Z list to find the RefWorks link, and select the link.
      5. You should now be able to log into and access your RefWorks account.
         

        Create an Account

        If you’re accessing RefWorks from off-campus, you must first log into the Secure Remote Access at http://sremote.pitt.edu.

        1. From the ULS Digital Library page, select the Find Article tab on the left.
        2. On the next page, select Locate Databases by Title.
        3. Browse down the alphabetical list and select the RefWorks heading, and select the Connect to the database link.
        4. At the RefWorks login page, select the Sign up for an Individual Account link, and fill out the form. Your account will be created and you can start using RefWorks.

        Connecting from Off-Campus

        Almost everything you can use through the library website on-campus, you can use from home.

        Pitt's Computing Services and Systems Development (CSSD) has deployed a secure remote access solution to permit University students, faculty, and staff to access restricted University online resources.

        • Secure Remote Access
          While logging in with your University Computing Account (email) username and password, choose Web Connect for a faster connection. Allow any prompts and select the Pitt Digital Library (University Library System).
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip