Education
MA in Art History, University of Oregon (cum laude),
AMLS, University of Michigan (full scholarship), 1970
BA in Arts & Letters, Portland State University, 1969
Full CV
Recent Professional Development
Hosted the annual conference of Art Libraries Society of North America, Pittsburgh, 2000
Wrote the nomination and gathered documentation nationally, for Susan Craig, art librarian at the University of Kansas, who received the Distinguished Service Award which I presented at the Art Libraries of North America conference, Denver, 2008
Co-taught Art and Music Librarianship, Department of Library Science, Summer, 2008
New Art Roundtable, Art Libraries Society of North America, Moderator, 2006-2008
Public Policies Committee, Art Libraries Society of North America, 2006-2008
Academic Libraries Division, Vice-Moderator, 2012-2013
Liaison Areas
Provides support to the departments of: The History of Art and Architecture (includes Architectural Studies Program, Historic Preservation, and Museum Studies) Studio Arts, and Classics
Selected Publications
Picasso: A Comprehensive Bibliography. London, New York: Garland, 1977.
"Bibliography." IN: Andy Warhol 1956-1986: Mirror of His Times. Exhibition: April 1986. Pittsburgh, Tokyo: Carnegie Museum of Art, Tokyo Museum of Contemporary Art, 1996. Published in English and Japanese.
Editor of national Gay and Lesbian Caucus Newsletter - published through the auspices of the College Art Association, 1995-1997.
"An Unexpected Future: A New Century Dawns for Art Librarians and Image Curators." [co-authored with ann Whiteside (Harvard University). Art Documentation 19, no. 1 (2000): 6-13.
"Visual Arts Resources: A Unique Rx." IN: Creative Strategies for Library Instruction in the Arts, Literature and Music. Ed. by Marilyn P. Whitmore. Lancaster, PA: Library Instruction Publications, 2001.
The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts. Ed. by Claude Summers. San Francisco: Cleis press, 2004. Contributed the following essays on artists" Alice Austen, Rosa Bonheur, Romaine Brooks, Dora Carrington, Gilbert & George, Gluck (Hannach Gluckenstein), Anna Klumpke, Simeon solomon, and Minor White.
Book reviewer for Choice (for collection development in academic libraries), 2007+; also for Art Documentation, 2007+
Reviewed the Visual Arts section of Bowker's Resources for College Libraries, 2011. Approximately 3,000 titles published since 1995. an undergraduate core collection used by academic libraries.
Selected Recent Presentations and an Exhibition Curated
Outside the Boundaries: Contemporary Art and Global Biennials delivered on the panel entitled "Collecting to Serve the Needs of the 21st Century Art Patron." Art Libraries Society of North America, Toronto, 2012.
Organized and moderated a panel entitled Hot and Bothered: Erotica in the Library and Museum Setting, Indianapolis, 2009
Books & Beyond: Artists' Books from Ohio Valley Collections, University Art Gallery, University of Pittsburgh, March - April 2000
Your Art Librarian |
Contact Info Frick Fine Arts Library University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PA 15260 Voicemail: (412) 648-2410 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Recent University Service
University Library System, Daytime Disaster Team, 2006 to present
University Library System, Faculty Affairs Committee, 2011 to present
Planning Committee for Faculty Senate Plenary on Women's issues, University of Pittsburgh, 2004
University Library System, Exchange Librarian to Wuhan University, Hubei Province, China, October 2002
University Library System, Peer Review Committee, 2001-2003
Department of the History of Art and Architecture, Spring Break for Art History majors in London, a tour guide with two other faculty members where I lectured on Medieval Art in the National Gallery and conducted a tour of three 17th century churches by Christopher Wren, 2000


Loading...
