Skip to main content

Ramón Gómez de la Serna Exhibit:

The Special Collections Department at the University of Pittsburgh's Library System celebrated the online accessibility of a majority of the Papers of Ramón Gómez de la Serna with an exhibit of selected manuscripts and photographs.

Exhibit Location & Hours

The exhibit Ramón: The Papers of Ramón Gómez de la Serna at the University of Pittsburgh  will be on display in the Special Collections Reading Room in Room 363 Hillman Library through December 21st, 2013. The exhibit is free and open to the public during the deparment's regular hours: Monday-Friday, 9am-4:45pm.

Special Collections Department

363 Hillman Library
3960 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15260
Phone: 412-648-8190
Fax 412-648-7887

Emailuls-specialcollections@mail.pitt.edu

Guide to Using Special Collections

 Hours | Staff | Directions

Introduction

Ramón:

The Papers of Ramón Gómez de la Serna at the University of Pittsburgh

 

Ramón Collage

 

Ramón Gómez de la Serna was a prolific Spanish-Argentinian poet, novelist, and essayist, who is especially known for creating a new literary genre he named the “greguería.” His works significantly influenced the avant-garde movement in Europe and Latin America. His personal papers are housed in the Special Collections Department on the 3rd floor of Hillman Library. The papers comprise approximately 60,000 handwritten notes and manuscripts, clippings, photographs, and annotated first editions from his library. Digital reproductions of portions of the collection are available via the online finding aid.

 

In collaboration with the Digital Research Library, the Special Collections Department has recently digitized the majority of the Ramón Gómez de la Serna Papers and made them available online. This project has created free and open access to the legacy of one of the most innovative literary figures in Spanish literature of the 20th century.  To celebrate this occasion, an exhibition has been created in the Special Collections reading room with displays highlighting Ramón’s unique personality and prolific literary creations.