Guides: Psychology Databases: Home

Related Guides & Resources

Psychology - Greensburg Campus
by Kelly Safin Last Updated Jan 22, 2025 516 views this year
Psychology of Sport - Bradford Campus
by Kimberly Bailey Last Updated Feb 12, 2025 168 views this year
Research Methods in Psychology - Pittsburgh Campus
by Aimee Sgourakis Jenkins Last Updated Feb 12, 2025 1303 views this year
Tests and Measures - Pittsburgh Campus
by Marian Hampton Last Updated Jun 27, 2023 247 views this year

At a Regional Campus?

Contact your regional library for help.

Bradford Campus
Kimberly Bailey, hanold@pitt.edu
Greensburg Campus
Kelly Safin, kab309@pitt.edu
Johnstown Campus
David Kupas, dmk24@pitt.edu
Titusville Campus
Marc Ross, marcross@pitt.edu

Core Psychology Resources

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides indexing coverage of all document types, including journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. The database is international in scope.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
ProceedingsFirst offers tables of contents from worldwide conferences, professional meetings and symposia; lists papers presented at those meetings; and provides an overview of the activities at such meetings.
Medline (ISI) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education and Current Index. The database also includes the full text of ERIC Digest Records. Ebsco and CSA are subscription services that offer sophisticated interfaces. The third option is to search the database via the government's web portal.
DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) This link opens in a new window
The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
The aim of the JCR is to provide a systematic and objective means of determining the relative importance of science and social sciences journals within their subject categories. Information for each title includes the "impact factor" (measurement of the frequency with which the average article has been cited in a particular year) and the "immediacy index" (how quickly the average article in a journal is cited).
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, etc) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics, research in language, and research in speech, language, and hearing pathology.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL database covers nearly 1000 English-language nursing and allied health journals. It also includes references to book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisual materials, software, dissertations, standards of professional practice and nurse practice acts.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
PsycCRITIQUES This link opens in a new window
This database is a source for full text reviews of Psychology literature. It also includes reviews of popular films and trade books from a psychological perspective.