The premier index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Includes some other documents.
A critical resource for the study of all aspects of American history, containing over 6,000 publications including every legislative and executive document of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses, speeches and messages of Presidents, and coverage of historical events.
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China scholars and students find sound, in-depth information on China from its early beginnings up to today, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century.
The US Congressional Serial Set contains all of the US Senate and House of Representatives Reports, Documents, and Journals and constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history.
Early Encounters in North America is a full text collection of primary documents related to early encounters of North American Indian, European, American, and African peoples and cultures in North America, as well as descriptions of the natural features of North America at the time.
The Economist is a popular world news magazine. It features a range of articles about current events, politics, culture, and business. The writing often takes an editorial tone and is often witty. The entire run of the magazine before 2006 is included here.
HRAF is a consortium of educational, research, and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. HRAF indexes the information in its collection of ethnography by culture and subject.
Global Market Information Database is a marketing tool provided by Euromonitor which covers countries worldwide. It contains data for many countries on consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and business information sources. For United Kingdom, Germany, United States, and France it provides full-text market research reports for specific products/industries.
A resource featuring information contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences and highlighting the expanding influence of economics in social science research.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Note: To access the data you need to create an account through the ICPSR website using your Pitt username and password
Macmillan Cabinet Papers 1957-1963 Online provides historians and political scientists with direct access to documents from the highest level of Government during the Macmillan Administration, 1957-1963.
The New York Review of Books (or NYRB) is a biweekly magazine on literature, culture, and current affairs published in New York which takes as its point of departure that the discussion of important books is itself an indispensable literary activity.
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides a link to access the New York Times Historical database- full text (1851-2001). This newspaper can be accessed individually through the drop-down database menu in the advanced search.
Database containing references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
PolicyFile covers all public policy issues with abstracts available on everything from trade with Asia to health care reform, from telecommunications regulation to the European Union, from terrorism to intelligence reform, from Bosnia to Superfund.
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 14,000+ surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and 100 other countries around the world.
ProceedingsFirst offers tables of contents from worldwide conferences, professional meetings and symposia; lists papers presented at those meetings; and provides an overview of the activities at such meetings.
UNBISnet is the primary index to United Nations documentation published since 1979 (or earlier for selected major documents) and indexed by the Dag Hammarskjold Library or the Library of the UN Office in Geneva.
Web of Science provides access to the three major citation indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. These databases bring together indexing for over 8,000 scholarly journals.
Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities and examines perspectives on women’s social movements from Colonial times to the present.
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.