Skip to main content

Public Speaking - Oakland Campus: Books

This research guide is for all COMMRC 0520 Public Speaking and related courses - Spring 2018.

eBooks Guide

Can you download that ebook to your Android? Find out here:

Can't Find It?

If we do not have a particular book, article or other resource in our collection, you can borrow it from another campus or local, national or worldwide library through our free interlibrary loan services.

Which book service?

PITTCat+

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

 

PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Searching PITTCat+

Enter your search terms and click on the Search Library button. PITTCat+ will offer correct spellings, and search for variations of our search terms. 

The Result List will include articles, books, e-materials, and images. Click on the title of an item for more detailed information about the item, such as an abstract or the shelf location for a book. If full-text content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "full text online" link. 

You can Refine Your Results by using the options on the left. Narrow your results to items in the catalog, a specific campus, format, publication date, limiting to scholarly information, and more.

If Full-Text Content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "full text online" link.

 

Ye Olde Book Catalogue

Stay Classic, Olde PITTCat!

The PITTCat Classic search interface guides you in structuring your search by selecting specific elements like ISBN, title, author or LC (Library of Congress) Subject Headings for a more targeted approach. Some researchers prefer this type of search when they want to see a list of all books by a certain author, or all editions of a certain title, or all access both print and online by year for a single journal title.

PITTCat classic does not search individual articles! You need PITTCat+ or a database for article level searching.

If you are having trouble breaking a very large topic down into sub-categories like time period or country, the Subject Heading lists in PITTCat Classic may help (examples would be topics like World War II era propaganda in Europe, or fiction written by African Americans during the Depression Era in the American South.)

Print a List of Books

Below is a printable list of selected books in the Opposing Viewpoints Series in Hillman. This list only covers some of the titles published from 1994 - 2006. The full series ranges from 2014 all the way back to the 1970's, and so can provide context and changing views on some subjects over time.

Opposing Viewpoints

There are 500+ "Opposing Viewpoints" books available in Hillman Library and online. You can follow the links below to browse the full list, or limit on the left of the screen to view only ebooks.

Add a second search term to the saved search in PittCat+ (examples: hackers, drunk driving, obesity, etc.) to find a book on a specific topic: PittCat+

Books are shelved by Call Number, mostly on the 3rd floor, BF - NZ, with some also along the Posvar Hall & David Lawrence sides of the 4th floor, P - Z. 

Use the two letters at the start of the Call Number to find the exact location for a book, using a map from the Desk or this Floor Plan PDF. You can also have books placed on hold for you at the main Desk, using the "Get It!" feature in the book's PittCat listing.