Skip to main content

Language and the Internet - LING 1800: Base

This guide is for Dr. Lauren Collister's Special Topics in Linguistics: Language and the Internet Spring 2018

Definitely try these...

Current Events Packages

A few journals to browse online...

Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication

Language@Internet

Computers in Human Behavior

New Media and Society

First Monday

Cyberpsychology, Behavior, and Social Networking

Journal of Pragmatics

Language in Society

Discourse and Communication

Journal of Linguistic Anthropology

Journal of Sociolinguistics

TO ACCESS ALL available issues:

1. Go to the Olde PittCat here http://pittcat.pitt.edu/

2. Select SEARCH (top, left option)

3. Copy/Paste JOURNAL TITLE from above into search box

4. Change "Search by" option to JOURNAL TITLE

5. Search and win!

Off Campus?

Don't waste hours being frustrated when something isn't working, ASK!

  • On Wireless PittNet?
  • Try Firefox or Internet Explorer?
  • Enable cookies, allow pop-ups!

Archives Online

Located off-campus at the library's Thomas Boulevard Facility in Point Breeze, the Archives Service Center (ASC) is the repository for manuscript and record collections that document the history of Pittsburgh and the Western Pennsylvania region, including the University of Pittsburgh. Also housed at Thomas Boulevard is the ULS Digital Research Library (DRL) which, among other functions, provides online access to photographs, map images, manuscripts, audio-visual material and other media.

Slides & Worksheets

CMC ebook

See All The Things

Use the PITTCat+ search engine on the library home page to search across many library resources for books, ebooks, articles, and archives.

Browse the full list of Pitt's article databases by name from A to Z, or by subject, to link directly to general or specialized collections of complete full-text journal, newspaper, magazine, ebook and multi-media content.