Skip to main content

Public Speaking - Johnstown Campus: Finding Books

A guide to print, electronic, and Internet resources available for Public Speaking students.

PITTCat+

PittCat+, University of Pittsburgh, University Library System

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

PITTCat+is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Finding Books in Owen Library

When you click on a title in PITTCat, you will see both a call number and location information for the title. Owen Library's collections include:

  1. Reference Collection - these books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, statistics, and more -- good for finding facts and background info. Reference materials do not circulate outside of the library.
  2. General Collection - these books cover a range of topics and content from theory to fiction to biographies. Books in Owen Library are organized by the Library of Congress classification scheme and similarly themed books are grouped together. Books on public speaking in general are classified with a PN call number. For example, if you find a relevant book with a call number of PN4121, browse the collection in that area. Chances are, you will find another book that will be equally helpful. General Collection materials may be borrowed with your Pitt ID.
  3. Periodicals - these journals and periodicals cover a range of disciplines. They are arranged in alphabetical order by title. Many ejournals are also accesible online. Periodicals do not circulate outside of the library.
  4. Audiovisuals - these materials include videos and CDs.

To find a collection's specific location, consult the Owen Library floor plans.

For more information on searching for books in PITTCat+, see this handout.

Search Google Books

Can't Find It?

If we do not have a particular book, article or other resource in our collection, you can borrow it from another campus or local, national or worldwide library through our free interlibrary loan services.