Banner Image

Jim Cassaro: Home

Education

M.A., Musicology, Cornell University

MLS, University at Buffalo

B.A., Music, University at Buffalo

Full CV
Professional Development

Music Library Association

International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres (IAML)

RILM (Répértoire International de Litterature Musicale): Commission mixte [governing board], 2008- ; Vice-President, 2008-

American Library Association

American Musicological Society

Society for Seventeenth-Century Music

Society of Dance History Scholars

Society for American Music

Community Service

Persad Center, Board of Directors, 2008- (Vice-President, 2010-; Chair, Development Committee, 2009- )

Episcopal Diocese of Pittsburgh, Commission on Archives and History (Chair, 2010- )

New Leadership Board, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, 2005-2008.

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Archives Committee, 2006-2007.

Renaissance & Baroque Society of Pittsburgh, Board of Directors, 2000-2009 (member of Program Committee; co-chair of Development Committee)

Calvary Episcopal Church Choir, 1999-2001; 2008- .

Liaison Areas

Provides primary support to the departments of Music, the History of Art and Architecture, and Studio Arts.

Selected Publications

“Sondheim, Stephen,” In The Encyclopedia of American Music and Culture (Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO [forthcoming])

The New Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2d ed. (New York: Oxford University Press [forthcoming])  Twenty entries (new and revised) on American composers, and “Libraries and Collections.”

Gaetano Donizetti: A Research and Information Guide. 2nd ed. (New York: Routledge, 2009)

Music, Libraries, and the Academy: Essays in Honor of Lenore Coral, ed. James P. Cassaro (Middleton, WI: A-R Editions, 2007)

“Sondheim, Stephen,” In Encyclopedia of American Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History and Culture (New York: Scribner, 2003)

Jean Baptiste Lully. Ballet des Saisons [critical edition], In Oeuvres completes. Series 1, vol. 6 (Hildesheim: Georg Olms Verlag, 2001)

“Carissimi, Luigi” and Cherubini, Luigi,” In Die Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart, 4th ed. (Tübingen: J.C.B. Mohr, 1999)

"Other Musical Chadwicks: John M. and George M. of Central New York," Notes 54/2 (December 1997):388-418.

"Music Cataloguing and the Future," Fontes Artis Musicae 41/3 (July-Sept. 1994): 245-250.

Space Utilization in the Music Library. MLA Technical reports, no. 20. (Canton, MA: Music Library Association, 1991)

Planning and Caring for Library Audio Facilities. MLA Technical reports, no. 17. (Canton, MA: Music Library Association, 1989)


Selected Presentations

“Mozart’s Magic Flute, the Enlightenment and Freemasonry,” Mozart Summer Camp, Opera Theater of Pittsburgh, July 12, 2012.

“’Ah, sì, il tempo che mai non s’arresta’: Real vs. Frozen Time in Verdi’s Operatic Ensembles,” American Association for Italian Studies, 31st Annual Conference,  Pittsburgh, PA, April 8, 2011.

“Marc-Antoine Charpentier & the Messe des morts (1695),” Adult Forum, Calvary Episcopal Church, Pittsburgh, PA, October 31, 2010.

“Haydn in Latrobe: The Musical Legacy of Boniface Wimmer (1809-1887),” MLA Atlantic Chapter Meeting, American University, October 10, 2010. Revised version given at IAML Conference, Dublin, Ireland, July 27, 2011.

“Winning Approval: The Ins and Outs of Music Score Approval Plans,” Music Library Association Annual Conference, March 22, 2010, San Diego, CA.

Need More Information?
Jim Cassaro
Contact:
Head, Theodore M. Finney Music Library

B30 Music Bldg/412-624-4131



Social:
Subjects:Music
University Service

ULS Faculty Assembly: Peer Review Committee (Chair, 2001-2002; Member, 2000-2002; 2006-2008; 2009-2011; 2012- ); Executive Committee (2001-2002)

ULS Promotion/Reappointment Guidelines Revision Committee (2001-2002)

Chair, ULS Search Committee, Buhl Social Work Collection Librarian (2001)

Chair, ULS Search Committee, Head, Public Services, Hillman Library (2002)

University Faculty Assembly (ULS representative, 2000-2003; 2004-2007)

University Faculty Senate (ULS representative, 2001-2003; 2005-2007)

University Faculty Senate, Anti-Discriminatory Policies Committee (pro-tem member 2001-2002; elected member, 2002-2008)

University Faculty Senate, Bylaws & Procedures Committee (member, 2008- )