Skip to main content

History of Books and Printing @ PITT Special Collections: Home

This guide provides an overview of books located at Special Collections on the history of books and printing.

PITTCat+

PittCat+, University of Pittsburgh, University Library System

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

PITTCat+is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Reference Collection Strengths

This collection features several books on the following subject areas.

  • American Printing Culture
  • Audubon and his Bird Prints
  • Bibliographies
  • Book Collecting
  • Book History and Culture
  • Book Making (Printing and Binding)
  • Early Printing
  • Fine and Private Printing Presses
  • Foreign Texts on Related Subjects
  • Handwriting
  • Illustrations 
  • Johannes Gutenberg and the Printing Press
  • Manuscripts
  • Typography and Type Design

Attributions

This guide was created by graduate students, Dominique Luster and Nicholas Clements, 2014-2015.

Introduction

The History of the Book and Printing Collection encompasses materials that describe the development, production, and dissemination of the written and printed word including works that illustrate manuscript origins, printing processes, book trading, binding, and book illustration in the broadest sense published prior to 1999.

While Special Collections does house a myriad of examples of antiquarian books, this guide focuses on books written about these books. They fall under the Library of Congress classification system's Z class which includes books about books and printing and bibliographies. This guide features galleries of fine examples from our rare book collection, as well as samples from the Z class. You can identify that a book is part of the Special Collections History of Books and Printing collection by checking that its call number begins with Z.

Contact Us

Special Collections Department

363 Hillman Library

3960 Forbes Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Phone: 412-648-8190

Fax 412-648-7887

Email: uls-specialcollections@mail.pitt.edu

Hours:
M-F: 9:00am-4:45pm