Skip to main content

Finding Maps - Oakland Campus: Home

This guide provides information on the map resources available in Hillman Library and on the Web.

Other Guides to Maps @ Pitt

Useful Websites and Databases for Finding Maps

Our Map Collection

The University Library System map collection contains a wide variety of maps:

  • General maps include resources such as historical, thematic, and road maps, and maps published by the National Geographic Society and the Army Map Service and Defense Mapping Agency.
  • Government Publications maps are maps received from the U.S. government through Federal Depository Library Program. These include CIA maps, census maps, forestry maps, and maps from various other government agencies.
  • Our USGS Topographic Maps, also received through the depository program, provide detailed topographic coverage in various scales for the entire U.S.
  • In addition to all of these paper maps, we have geographic data available through the GIS Service Center.

Location of our Map Collection

The University Library System map collection is housed at our off-site Library Resource Facility. Individual maps which are cataloged in PITTCat may be requested for delivery to Hillman Library. Maps are also available for viewing at the Library Resource Facility by arrangement. Please contact Christopher Lemery at clemery@pitt.edu for details and questions. 

Liaison Librarian

Christopher Lemery's picture
Christopher Lemery
Contact:
207E Hillman Library
412-648-3925