Guides: Film and Media Studies Resources @ Pitt: Film Reviews

Useful Databases

The following databases are especially useful for finding reviews of older films:

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
One of the most important resources for film studies research. Contains more than 500,000 article citations from over 300 periodicals and full text articles for nearly 50 publications. The "film/TV title keyword(s)" search option is especially useful for finding movie reviews.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Another good resource for finding newspaper movie reviews. The "power search" option allows you to only retrieve articles from a specified range of dates, which is useful if you're looking for reviews published around the time of the film's release.
National Newspapers (Current) (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Searches a number of prominent newspapers, including the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal.

Google News Archive Search
A good resource for finding newspaper movie reviews. The "advanced archive search" options allow you to only retrieve articles from a specified range of dates, which is useful if you're looking for reviews published around the time of the film's release.

Review Aggregators

The following web resources are especially useful for finding reviews of newer films:

Select Text Resources

Many of the most important movie review resources are still available only in book form. The following list is only a small sample of the kinds of materials available at the library. For information about how to find similar items, see the "Books" section of this LibGuide.

Film Review Index
Indexes reviews for more than 8,000 films made between 1882 and 1985.
Variety Film Reviews
Includes every film review published in Variety from 1907 until 1996.
New York Times Film Reviews
Includes every film review published in the New York Times from 1913 until 1996.
Cahiers du Cinéma
Includes a selection of articles published in the important French-language film magazine Cahiers du Cinéma during the 1950s, 60s, and 70s.
Awake in the Dark: The Best of Roger Ebert
A collection of reviews by Roger Ebert, one of America's best-known movie critics.
5001 Nights at the Movies
A collection of capsule reviews by prominent movie critic Pauline Kael, most famous for her long tenure at the New Yorker.

Magill's Survey of Cinema series

The following make up the Magill's Survey of Cinema series, which provides essay-reviews on individual films from 1980 - present with Magill's Cinema Annual. Unless noted, this series can be requested via Get It from ULS-Thomas Blvd.

Note: There is a Title Index (REF PN1993.45 M35 1987) for the entire series, including the early annuals.

English Language Films, First Series by Magill, Frank N.
Call Number: PN1993.45 M3
Publication Date: 1980
ULS Storage - Request via Get It!
English Language Films, Second Series by Magill, Frank N.
Call Number: PN1993.45 M3 2d ser.
Publication Date: 1981
ULS Storage - Request via Get It!
Foreign Language Films by Magill, Frank N.
Call Number: PN1993.45 M34 1985
Publication Date: 1985
Hillman Reference - First Floor (Non-circulating)
Silent Films by Magill, Frank N.
Call Number: PN1993.45 M32
Publication Date: 1982
ULS Storage - Request via Get It!
Magill's Cinema Annual by Magill, Frank N.
Call Number: PN1995 M25
Publication Date: 1982 to date
Hillman Reference - First Floor (Non-circulating)

Film Criticism Blogs

Top Film Criticism Sites: An Annotated Blog Roll
The Top Film Criticism Sites: An Annotated Blog Roll by Paul Brunick in the July/August 2010 Issue of Film Comment. This can help with newer films.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Film and Media Studies Resources @ Pitt

Useful Databases

Review Aggregators

Select Text Resources

Magill's Survey of Cinema series

Film Criticism Blogs