Skip to main content

Discovery and Exploration: Selected Works from the Darlington Memorial Library Collection, 16th Century-18th Century. On display Spring 2015 @ Pitt Special Collections: The Exhibit

This library guide is an overview of the Special Collection's exhibit, "Discovery and Exploration: Selected Works from the Darlington Memorial Library Collection," which celebrates the 200th anniversary of William McCullough Darlington's birth.

Exhibit Information


This exhibit celebrates the 200th anniversary of William McCullough Darlington's birth and the legacy that he spent his extraordinary life constructing. Mr. Darlington was a 19th century Pittsburgh attorney with a passion and enthusiasm for American history. He researched and wrote about a variety of topics including Native American Indians, Fort Pitt, the French and Indian War as well as others, and published Christopther Gist's Journals posthumously in 1893.

Darlington is considered to be a true scholar and one of the foremost experts in the colonial history of western Pennsylvania and the Ohio Valley. Darlington secured the services of Mr. James A. Burt to create hand-drawn copies of manuscript maps located at the Public Records Office in London to complement his extensive collection of books and support his own research pursuits. His fascination with exploration, discovery, and travel is represented in this collection of atlases, maps, and travel books that document the cartography and voyages to the new world since the 1500's.

Contact Us

Special Collections Department

363 Hillman Library

3960 Forbes Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Phone: 412-648-8190

Fax 412-648-7887

Email: uls-specialcollections@mail.pitt.edu

Hours:
M-F: 9:00am-4:45pm
 

Special Collections Facebook