Banner Image

Dan Pennell: Home

Education

MLS, Indiana University, 2001

MA, Russian History, Indiana University, 1999

BA, Political Science and Russian and East European Studies, Indiana University, 1993

Professional Development

2010-2013, National Board Member, Society for Romanian Studies (SRS)

2009-2011, Member, Bibliographic and Documentation Committee (B&D), American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies (AAASS)

2009-2010, Editor, “Library and Internet News” in NewsNet: News of the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies (AAASS)

2007-2010, Newsletter Editor, Society for Romanian Studies (SRS)

2005-2007, Secretary, Slavic and East European Microform Project (SEEMP)

2005-2006, Chair, Slavic and East European Section (SEES), Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)

2004-2005, Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, Slavic and East European Section (SEES), Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)

2003-2008, Book Review Editor, East European Politics and Societies (EEPS)

2003-2007, Reviews Editor, Slavic and East European Information Resources (SEEIR)

2002-2004, Book Review Editor, Balkan Academic News (BAN)

Liaison Areas

Provides support to the departments of:

Center for Russian and East European Studies (CREES)

Global Studies Center (GSC)

Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures

Department of German

Selected Publications

“The Fate of Book Chambers and National Bibliographies in Belarus, Ukraine, and Moldova Since 1991” in Slavic and East European Information Resources, Vol. 11, No. 1, 2010, pp. 10-20

“American Perceptions of Romania’s Treatment in the American Press 1944-1949” in US-Romanian Relations in the Twentieth Century. Cluj-Napoca: Presa Universitară Clujeană, 2010, pp. 189-214

“The Power and Peril of Ideas: Continuity and Change in Romanian Publishing” in Books, Bibliographies, and Pugs: A Festschrift to Honor Murlin Croucher, Indiana Slavic Studies, Vol. 16 (2006), pp. 145-157

“Here Today, Gone Tomorrow: The Vicissitudes of Vendor-Library Relations in the Slavic and East European Book Trade” in Slavic and East European Information Resources Vol. 5, Nos. 1-2, 2004, pp. 59-68

“Iuliu Maniu, the National Peasant Party, and the Communist Takeover of Romania” in New Approaches to Balkan Studies. Dulles, Virginia: Brassey’s, Inc., 2003, pp. 74-102

Selected Presentations

Moderator and Discussant, “Access to Information in Post-Communist Romania: Libraries and Archives” 2012 International Conference of the Society for Romanian Studies “Europeanization and Globalization: Romanians in their Region and the World” Sibiu, Romania, July 2012

Panel discussant, “Book Culture Studies in the Post-Soviet Mirror: The New and The Old” ASEEES National Convention, November 2011

Panel chair, “Past as Prologue: The History and/or Projected Future of Slavic and East European Library Collections” at the ICCEES VIII World Congress 2010: Eurasia: Prospects for Further Cooperation, Stockholm, July 2010

Paper “Tenuous Transitions: Book Chambers and National Bibliographies in Belarus, Ukraine, and Moldova Since 1991” AAASS National Convention, November 2008

Paper “The Power and Peril of Ideas: Continuity and Change in Romanian Publishing” AAASS National Convention, November 2005

Bibliographer for Russian, East European, Germanic, and Global Studies
Dan Pennell
Contact:
University of Pittsburgh

3960 Forbes Avenue

233 Hillman Library

Pittsburgh, PA 15260
Full CV