Related Guides & Resources
Amanda Folk
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
Reference/Public Services Library at the Millstein Library, Greensburg campus
60 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
Reference/Public Services Library at the Millstein Library, Greensburg campus
60 views this year
Introduction to Dramatic Art: THEA 0810 - Oakland Campus
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
This guide is designed to support student research for Vivian Appler's Introduction to Dramatic Art class.
47 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
This guide is designed to support student research for Vivian Appler's Introduction to Dramatic Art class.
47 views this year
Introduction to Shakespeare ENGLIT 580 - Oakland Campus
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
49 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
49 views this year
Marian Hampton
- Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
Coordinator of Library Instruction, University Library System, University of Pittsburgh
56 views this year
- Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
Coordinator of Library Instruction, University Library System, University of Pittsburgh
56 views this year
Theatre and War - Oakland Campus
- Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
This guide is designed to support the research of students in Theatre Arts 25640: Theatre and War
3 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
This guide is designed to support the research of students in Theatre Arts 25640: Theatre and War
3 views this year
World Theatre History, 1640-1910: THEA 1342/2206
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
A research guide created to support student work in THEA 1342/2206: World Theatre History, 1640-1910
179 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
A research guide created to support student work in THEA 1342/2206: World Theatre History, 1640-1910
179 views this year
World Theatre: 500 BCE to 1640 - Oakland Campus
- Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
This LibGuide was created to help students in Prof. Jackson-Schebetta’s World Theatre class complete their research of a selected historical figure from theatre or performance.
45 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
This LibGuide was created to help students in Prof. Jackson-Schebetta’s World Theatre class complete their research of a selected historical figure from theatre or performance.
45 views this year
Comments (0)
At a Regional Campus?
On a regional campus? Contact your regional library for help.
- Bradford CampusKimberly Bailey, hanold@pitt.edu
- Greensburg CampusAmanda Folk, alfolk@pitt.edu
- Johnstown CampusPaul Bond, paulbond@pitt.edu
- Titusville CampusPatrick Hall, phall2@pitt.edu
Core Theatre Arts Databases
These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.
- Humanities International Index
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
- International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA)
- JSTOR
- Literature Online (LION)
- Literature Resource Center
- MagillOnLiterature (via EBSCO)
- MLA International Bibliography
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
- Project Muse
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Theatre Online Collections
- Asian American DramaAsian American Drama currently contains the full texts of 252 plays, about half of which have never been published before, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- Black Drama1,462 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by 233 playwrights, as well as information on the playwrights, related productions, production companies and theatres. Also included are selected playbills, production stills, and other materials relating to the plays. Over one third of the plays are published here for the first time.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)EEBO contains over 125,000 early English titles listed in the Short-Title Catalogue of early English works (1473-1700). These include the earliest editions of the intervals, plays and masques of the Renaissance, Jacobean and Restoration authors and playwrights, including the quarto and folio editions of Shakespeare.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)ECCO contains the full texts of a number of eighteenth century editions of plays, many of them comedies, by English and Irish playwrights of the period, including 21 by Goldsmith and 75 by Sheridan. Also included are plays by Addison, Congreve, Gay, Lillo and Rowe, among others. If you are working in the drama of other European playwrights from this or earlier periods, you might check the database for English language translations or original language editions of their plays.
- English Verse DramaEnglish Verse Drama contains more that 2,000 plays by 450 authors, as well as 230 anonymous plays, from the late 13th through the end of the 19th century.
- Literature OnlineLiterature Online features an ever-growing collection of over 260,000 works of poetry, drama and prose with complementary critical resources. LION includes such full-text drama resources as American Drama (1714-1915), Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911), and English Drama (1280-1915).
- North American Women's DramaNorth American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, as well as information on the playwrights, related productions, production companies and theatres. Also included are selected playbills, production stills, and other materials relating to the plays. About one third of the plays have never been published before.
- Theatre in VideoTheatre in Video contains definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with film documentaries, all online in streaming video.
Primary Liaison
Links: Profile & Guides |
Secondary Liaison
Contact Info G 22 Hillman Library University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PA 15260 412-648-7704 worksite 412 298-4037 cell Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |







Loading...
