Skip to main content

Citing Business Resources @ Pitt: Citing Business Resources

Designed to help CBA, MBA, and MAcc students to cite business databases, reports, and financials.

Citing

Citing sources properly is necessary to demonstrate where your information is coming from. It also helps keep you from accidentally plagiarizing.

Be sure to check with your instructor to see what citation format you should be using.

Citation Examples

Below are examples of how to cite some popular business resources, based upon our interpretation of the APA 6th edition rules.

Academic LexisNexis Annual Reports Business Insights: Global Business Source Complete
Census.gov Global Market Information Database (GMID) / Passport / Euromonitor IBISWorld Mergent Online
Standard & Poor's Industry Survey Thomson ONE Value Line 10-K

Academic Lexis-Nexis

Company information

Hoover's Inc. (2012, March 6). H.J. Heinz Company. Hoover's Company Records - In-depth records. Retrieved from Academic Lexis-Nexis.

Disclosure Inc. (2011, Sept 6). H.J. Heinz Company. Disclosure SEC Database. Retrieved from Academic Lexis-Nexis.

Articles

Kanter, J. (2011, Dec 13). Google's Acquisition of Motorola Delayed. The New York Times. pp. B5. Retrieved from Academic Lexis-Nexis.


Annual Reports

Honda Motor Co. (2011). Annual report 2011. Retrieved from http://www.honda.com

Alcoa Inc. (2011). 2010 Annual report and Form 10-K.  Retrieved from MergentOnline.


Business Insights: Global

Company profiles

Gale Group. (2011). Facebook, Inc. [company profile]. Retrieved from Business Insights: Global.

Industry reports

Datamonitor. (2008, April 15). Global-Oil & Gas Exploration & Production. Datamonitor Industry Market Research. Retrieved from Business Insights: Global.

Company histories

Gale Group. (2008). Facebook, Inc. International directory of company histories. Retrieved from Business Insights: Global.

Articles

"Top social networking sites worldwide, 2007" (2007, November 1). Wall Street Journal, p. B3. Reproduced in Market share reporter 2009 . Retrieved from Business Insights: Global.

Encyclopedia

Gale Group. (2011). Social Media. Encyclopedia of emerging industries. Retrieved from Business Insights: Global.


Business Source Complete

Company profiles

Datamonitor. (2011, May 6). Alcoa Inc. [company profile]. Retrieved from Business Source Complete.

Industry reports

Datamonitor (2008). Organic Food Industry Profile: United States.  Retrieved from Business Source Complete.

Barnes Reports (2012). U.S. Ship & Boat Building Industry. [industry report]. Retrieved from Business Source Complete.

Articles

Ritter, R. C. (2004). When Offshore Manufacturing Doesn't Make Sense. McKinsey Quarterly, 4, 124. Retrieved from Business Source Complete.


Census.gov

Population data

U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Pittsburgh city, Pennsylvania -- Profile of General Population and Housing Characteristics: 2010. [table]. 2010 Demographic Profile Data. Retrieved from U.S. Census Bureau website http://www.census.gov.

Economic Census

U.S. Census Bureau. (2007). Pennsylvania -- Economy-Wide Key Statistics: 2007. [table]. 2007 Economic Census. Retrieved from U.S. Census Bureau website http://www.census.gov.

County Business Patterns

U.S. Census Bureau. (2009). Allegheny County, Pennsylvania --  Geography Area Series: County Business Patterns. [table]. 2009 Business Patterns. Retrieved from U.S. Census Bureau website http://www.census.gov.


Global Market Information Database (GMID) / Passport / Euromonitor

Euromonitor. (2012). Market Sizes- Historic- Retail Value RSP- US$mm- Current Prices Year-on-Year Exchange Rates- Packaged Food. [Statistics]. Retrieved from Global Market Information Database.

Euromonitor. (2011, Dec 1). Annual Study 2011: Generational Differences. Retrieved from Global Market Information Database.


IBISWorld

Industry reports

style="text-indent: -30px; padding-left: 30px;">IBIS. (2011, June). Family clothing stores in the US. Retrieved from http://www.ibisworld.com/.


Mergent Online

Mergent. (2011). Apple Inc. Company Financials. Retrieved from http://www.mergentonline.com/


Standard & Poor Industry Survey

Standard & Poor's. (2007, November 29). Industry Surveys: Apparel & Footwear. New York: Standard & Poor's.


Thomson ONE

Oppenheimer & Co., Inc. "Analyst Day Provides Vision, Repositioning Requires a Longer-Term Perspective." October 23, 2010. Retrieved from Thomson Research/Investext.


Value Line

Value Line. (2004, October 1). Sprint Corporation stock report. Value Line Investment Surveys 60(5): 737.  New York: Value Line, Inc.


10-K

H.J. Heinz Company. (2011, June 16). Form 10-K. Fiscal year ended April 27, 2011. Retrieved from SEC Edgar website http://www.sec.gov.

Citing Within the Paper

Within your reports and papers, you may be including charts, statistics and other information uncovered in your research.  In addition to your reference list at the end of the paper, it is important to include footnotes/endnotes or in-text citations for this information when you mention it.  This will allow your readers (such as your professor and TA's) to easily trace back each piece of information to your credible source, thereby strengthening your argument.

Citation Guides

For additional help with the APA, Chicago, or MLA citation styles, see the links below.

Citing books and e-books (APA)

Books

By one author

Drucker, Peter (2011). Technology, management, and society. Boston, MA: Harvard Business Press.

By two authors

Wheeler, A. & Katz, J. (2011). Brand Atlas : Branding intelligence made visible. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.

By three to seven authors

Harrington, L.H., Boyson, S., & Corsi, T.M. (2011). X-SCM : the new science of X-treme supply chain management. New York, NY: Routledge.

Article or Chapter in an Edited Book

Rao, A. (2010). Brand Alliances. In. B. Loken, R. Ahluwalia & M.J. Houston (Eds.), Brands and Brand Management. (pp. 43- 61). New York, NY: Routledge.

E-books

Dormeier, B. (2011.) Investing with volume analysis: identify, follow, and profit from trends. Upper Saddle River, NJ: FT Press. Retrieved from Safari Tech Books Online http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com