Skip to main content

ENGLIT 1635: Children in Pittsburgh - Oakland Campus: Home

This guide is designed for students in the Children in Pittsburgh course, listing primary and secondary sources, online content, and specialists and organizations available as research resources.

Resources for research on children in Pittsburgh

Related Guides

Historic Pittsburgh

Historic Pittsburgh  is an amazing resource for your research and enjoyment!  It comprises a variety of primary and secondary sources about the greater Pittsburgh region, including a wide range of publications, maps, manuscripts, visual images, and audio-video materials, that support personal and scholarly research.  Launched in 1999, the site partners with more than a dozen cultural heritage institutions that hold historical collections and are willing to digitize and share them in support of both personal and scholarly research.

 The newly launched Historic Pittsburgh site has increased functionality for use of digitized content.   Included among the HP collections are:

Not everything held by our Historic Pittsburgh partners are digitized and can be found online. Finding Aids are available and searchable online for collections held at the ULS, (including the Archives Service Center, Special Collections Department and Center for American Music); and the Detre Library & Archives at the Heinz History Center.   Each of the  2,000 or so FInding Aid typically includesa brief overview of each collection, information about the person, organization or institution who created the collection, and an inventory listing each folder in the collection.  archival collections documenting greater Pittsburgh area history.