Skip to main content

Chemistry Capstone - Bradford Campus: Home

This guide provides research assistance to undergraduate students in Dr. Francis Mulcahy's CHEM 1451 Capstone: Chemistry at the Bradford Campus.

Chemistry

This LibGuide provides resources and links to help with your Chemistry Capstone paper.  It includes information on how to find articles through the university databases and how to properly cite your resources.  It also includes direct links to PITTCat+, chemistry databases, chemical dictionaries, books, and online tutorials.  The online tutorials will help you understand plagiarism and how to choose resources that are scholarly

In addition, this guide also provides links to professional organizations and careers in chemistry.   

Research in Progress

See live research by Dr. David Soriano:

 

 

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/davesoriano56

The Research Process

  • Develop a topic that asks a question or poses a problem that interests you.
  • Select appropriate search terms for your subject. In the field of chemistry, you may want to be more specific in your search term to yield better results. For example:
    • Heterogeneous catalysis
    • metabolic toxicity
    • photoysis
    • cyanotoxins
    • au-based catalysts AND oxidation
  • Search PITTCat+ and subject oriented databases.
  • Revise your topic. Determine how you will answer your question.
  • Evaluate your resources carefully!
  • When in doubt, contact your librarian.

This sample worksheet will help you refine your research topic and understand how to evaluate a scholarly journal article. You may also want to consult our online tutorial, Scholarly Information, or check Evaluating Research Articles From Start to Finish, 3rd. ed., 2011, by Ellen R. Girden.  This book is available at the Bradford Campus Library  Q180.55.E9 G57 2011.

Reference/Instruction Librarian

Kimberly Bailey
Contact:
Hanley Library, Room 104

300 Campus Drive

Bradford, PA 16701

814-362-7621

Career Information