Finding Prices - Chemical Engineering 0613 - Systems Engineering 2: Process Design - Oakland Campus

Databases

Chemical Databases:

These databases allow you to search for a specific chemical substance by name or structure.

NOTE: Many of the suppliers that list prices are for research-quantities only. These prices DO NOT scale up to bulk prices.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Pitt subscription database that can search for chemicals and reactions, or by properties. Includes information on pricing.

ChemAnalyst
The prices through this source appear higher than other sources, so compare to other current sources or older prices adjusted with a Producer Price Index.
ChemExper
Also includes a structure search.
Chemical Register
Directory of chemical suppliers.

Chemical Suppliers:

Search for chemicals directly from the following chemical supply companies.

Publications:

The following publications regularly include reports on chemical prices or industry trends. The descriptions provide search tips for regularly occurring articles, if available.

ICIS Chemical Business
Search within the publication for "Chemical Profiles" or "Market Trends".
ICIS Chemical News
Good place to find pricing information (albeit at a large scale).
Chemical & Engineering News
Search for "Facts & Figures" or "Chemical Outlook" and sort by date to get overviews and forecasts.
Chemical Engineering
Search within the publication for "Plant Cost Index", "Economic Indicators", or "Current Trends".
Chemical Week
Search within publication for "Price Report".
ENR
Search within publication for "Construction Cost Index".
Chemistry and Industry
Process Engineering

Equipment Cost Tools:

Use the following tools to estimate costs and find manufacturers.

Cost Estimator Tool
Equipment costs accompanying information from "Plant Design and Economics for Chemical Engineers" 5th edition by Max S. Peters, Klaus D. Timmerhaus, and Ronald E. West (McGraw Hill).
Matches
Matches provides conceptual (order-of-magnitude) process equipment cost estimates for over 275 types of equipment.
Intratec Plant Construction Index
Enables users to scale capital costs from one time period to another. The index reconciles prices trends of fundamental components of a chemical plant construction such as labor, material and energy, providing meaningful historical and forecast data for users.

Equipment Manufacturers:

ThomasNet
Catalogs of manufacturers of equipment and supplies.
Chemical Engineering Buyers' Guide
Industrial Quick Search
Find manufacturers of industrial equipment.
Chemical Online
Look under "solutions" for products and suppliers.
Fisher Controls International
Grainger

Additional Information:

These resources provide additional information on economic and trade data for the U.S. and globally.

U.S. Census Bureau: Current Industrial Reports
The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.
UN Comtrade
Lists global annual trade statistics and commodities since 1962 and monthly statistics since 2010.
Producer Price Indexes
U.S. Government statistics for price movement (but not actual prices): “The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.”
Economics & Statistics Administration
Economic indicators & reports on various industries.

See the "Business Articles" section on the "Finding Articles" page for more places to search.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Chemical Engineering 0613 - Systems Engineering 2: Process Design - Oakland Campus

Databases