PITTCat+ will list all the journals we subscribe to either online or in paper. If the journal is online, the PITTCat+ record will offer a link directly to the journal database. If the ULS doesn't subscribe to the journal online, PITTCat+ will list any paper volumes and issues we have of that journal.
The E-Journal Search will tell you if we have an online subscription to the journal or publication you are seeking. Search by the Journal title, and the result list will list the years available online.
3. Maybe it's not online:
Not all publications are available online, or the ULS may not have an online subscription to the publication you are seeking. Search PITTCat Classic for the journal title to see if we have it in paper. If we do, you can go to the library that has it, or request that volume using the Get It system (see box at right).
The University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS) subscribes to a large number of databases to help you find research materials. Use the links below to find the types of databases for which you are looking.
Contains more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
The CINAHL database covers nearly 1000 English-language nursing and allied health journals. It also includes references to book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisual materials, software, dissertations, standards of professional practice and nurse practice acts.
This resource provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. This database includes the Clinical Pharmacology database, providing access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.
MICROMEDEX publishes clinical decision support databases and tools. The MICROMEDEX® Healthcare Series provides a wide range of databases tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals, including information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education.
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Academic Onefile offers balanced coverage of every academic concentration - from advertising and microbiology to history and women's studies. Combines indexing, abstracts, full text and images. Some specific titles include the Journal of Communication and The New York Times.
With more than 2.3 million entries, PQDT is the database of record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Over 60,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.