Government Information - Reconstruction in the United States - Oakland Campus

Legislative & Legal History

Congressional (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Services. Includes access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, information about current members of Congress, and much more.

Includes U.S. Bills and Resolutions: 1789 - 2022
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
The US Congressional Serial Set contains all of the US Senate and House of Representatives Reports, Documents, and Journals and constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages and will cover the time period 1817 through 1994.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein Online indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories. HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Executive Branch & Presidential Papers

U.S. Executive Branch Documents from 1789-1909 are available on microfiche in off-site storage facility. To find documents, please consult the CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909.

The American Presidency Project
This is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913).

U.S. Census

U.S. Census of Population, 1860 & 1870

Statistical Reports: Hillman Library, Government Publications Collection.

1860 Call No. I 9.5:

1870 Call No. I 10.5:

Hillman Library, Microforms Collection, HA A11 Reels 161 and 162. Manufactures are on Reel 132.

Federal Population Census Schedules: These include names of individuals. Also known as “name rolls” or “enumerator schedules.” Library Location: Hillman Library, Microforms Collection,

1860 Call No.: HA A8

1870 Call No.: HA A9

Census of Population and Housing (Decennial Census) - Census Bureau
Available from the U.S. Census Bureau, these are PDF versions of the printed volumes.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is mainly an interactive map of demographic information drawn from the US Census. Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. Note: Creation of a Personal Account is required to fully access all Social Explorer features.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Reconstruction in the United States - Oakland Campus

History Liaison Librarian

Legislative & Legal History

Executive Branch & Presidential Papers

U.S. Census