Skip to main content

Political Science Research - Johnstown Campus: Art Images and Films

A guide to resources for Dr. James Alexander's PS 1700: Political Science Research course.

Art Full Text

Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Art Index Retrospective

Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

ARTstor

ARTstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data. Images are international in scope and coverage includes a wide variety of civilizations, time-periods and media.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art online is a portal for encyclopedia articles and images of art that offers you the ability to acesss and cross-search searches across four art reference resources: 

  • Grove Art Online
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

How to Find Films in PITTCat+

From the library homepage, you can search PITTCatfor the title of a film, the subject you're interested in, or the name of a person (i.e., actor, director, or character).

You can then limit the list of results to just include films, videos, and dvds by using the options on the left of the screen: select More under Content Type, click Video Recordings, and then click Apply.

You can also browse the catalog for feature films, by searching for feature films or fiction films. Use the Discipline and Subject Terms options on the left of the screen to narrow the list of results.

Depending on what you're looking for, you may want to limit your results to only include films in a certain language or just films that are available at Johnstown's Owen Library.

To request a film from another campus, first click on an available location link beneath its description in PITTCat+, then click on the "Get it"! button on the item record. Please note that films from Stark Media Services on the Pittsburgh campus have limited access and undergraduates can't request them by using the Get it! service. See Stark Media Services FAQ for more information.

Streaming Video Search