Skip to main content

HIST 1505: Film and History - Johnstown Campus: Books

A guide to resources for Dr. Robert Matson's HIST1505: Film and History course.

PITTCat+ Handout

Can't Find It?

If we do not have a particular book, article or other resource in our collection, you can borrow it from another campus or local, national or worldwide library through our free interlibrary loan services.

PITTCat+

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

 

PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Searching for Film Studies Materials in PITTCat Classic

If you're trying to choose a research topic, or find materials, below are some search terms you may find useful. Use these in PITTCat Classic by typing "subject:" into the search bar, followed by the term. For example, "subject:film" will search for all books with that subject.


To find books in the ULS on film studies generally, consult PITTCat Classic using the following Library of Congress subject heading:

                 MOTION PICTURES

To obtain a listing of dictionaries and encyclopedias on film in the library's reference collection, consult PITTCat Classic by entering the following Library of Congress subject headings:

                 MOTION PICTURES DICTIONARIES
             
                 MOTION PICTURES ENCYCLOPEDIAS



To find records of the library's holdings of general catalogs providing entries with basic information about individual films, consult PITTCat Classic by entering the following Library of Congress subject heading:

                 MOTION PICTURES CATALOGS


To locate any catalogs listing the films of a particular nation or genre in the library, enter more specific subject headings:

Examples:
                 MOTION PICTURES GREAT BRITAIN CATALOGS
               
                 HORROR FILMS CATALOGS
               
                 SCIENCE FICTION FILMS CATALOGS
               
                 WESTERN FILMS CATALOGS


To locate general books on the history of film, consult PITTCat Classic using the following Library of Congress subject heading:

                 MOTION PICTURES HISTORY


To identify books on the film history of a specific nation, enter more specific subject headings:

Examples:
                 MOTION PICTURES JAPAN HISTORY
               
                 MOTION PICTURES GERMANY HISTORY


To find books on specific topics in film or on specific film genres, look under their Library of Congress subject headings:

Examples:
                CINEMATOGRAPHY
              
                CINEMATOGRAPHY SPECIAL EFFECTS
               
                ANIMATION CINEMATOGRAPHY
               
                ANIMATED FILMS
               
                FILM NOIR
               
                MELODRAMA IN MOTION PICTURES
               
                HORROR FILMS
               
                SCIENCE FICTION FILMS
               
                AFRICAN AMERICANS IN MOTION PICTURES
               
                WOMEN IN MOTION PICTURES


Some films and film series have become so popular or so significant that they have become the subjects of both popular and scholarly books. To locate any of these in the library's collection, consult PITTCat Classic by entering the film titles as subject headings:

Examples:
                WIZARD OF OZ (MOTION PICTURE: 1939)
               
                GONE WITH THE WIND (MOTION PICTURE)
               
                CITIZEN KANE (MOTION PICTURE)
               
                CASABLANCA (MOTION PICTURE)
               
                TITANIC (MOTION PICTURE: 1997)
               
                MATRIX (MOTION PICTURE)
               
                LORD OF THE RINGS (MOTION PICTURE)
               
                AVATAR (MOTION PICTURE: 2009)


If you would like to find books by a particular film critic, filmmaker, producer, cinematographer, or actor, consult PITTCat Classic by entering his or her name as an author:

Examples:
                KAEL, PAULINE
               
                KAUFFMANN, STANLEY
               
                SAYLES, JOHN
               
                EISENSTEIN, SERGEI
               
                SELZNICK, DAVID
               
                KINSKI, KLAUS


If you want to locate books about a particular film critic, filmmaker, producer, cinematographer, or actor, consult PittCat Classic by entering his or her name as a subject heading:

Examples:
                LEE, SPIKE
               
                RIEFENSTAHL, LENI
               
                KUROSAWA, AKIRA
               
                ALMODÓVAR, PEDRO
               
                OVITZ, MICHAEL
               
                BERGMAN, INGRID


Criticism of the work of a particular individual will also be found under the subdivision CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION following his or her name used as a subject heading:

Examples:
                SCORSESE, MARTIN CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION
               
                FASSBINDER, RAINER WERNER CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION
               
                JORDAN, NEIL CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION


To locate general bibliographies on film in the library, consult PITTCat Classic by entering the following general subject heading:

                MOTION PICTURES BIBLIOGRAPHY



For any bibliographies on the cinema of a particular nation
in the library, scroll down to the subdivision BIBLIOGRAPHY following a more specific subject heading:

Examples:
                MOTION PICTURES AUSTRALIA BIBLIOGRAPHY
               
                MOTION PICTURES ITALY BIBLIOGRAPHY



Look under specific subject headings and then scroll down to the subdivision BIBLIOGRAPHY to locate any available bibliographies on a specific individual, film genre or topic in the library:

Examples:
                TRUFFAUT, FRANÇOIS BIBLIOGRAPHY
              
                HITCHCOCK, ALFRED BIBLIOGRAPHY
               
                DISNEY, WALT BIBLIOGRAPHY
               
                CHAPLIN, CHARLIE BIBLIOGRAPHY
               
                STEWART JAMES BIBLIOGRAPHY
               
                HORROR FILMS BIBLIOGRAPHY
               
                WOMEN IN MOTION PICTURES BIBLIOGRAPHY