Skip to main content

Identify Potential Collaborators By Research Analysis Tools: Use Google Scholar and Other Tools

This guide provides faculty and researchers with information on how to identify collaborators by analyzing authorship, readership and citation links in SciVal, Google Scholar, ResearchGate or Mendeley.

Google Scholar

    Set up an account for MyCitations in Google Scholar, create an author profile, track citations, and generate an h-index. While Google data may be less reliable, more types of publications are indexed.

Analyze Google Scholar data. This will be of particular interest to researchers in humanities and social sciences that have limited representation in Web of Science or Scopus which is the main data source for SciVal.

Currently, two tools are available to analyze Google Scholar data:  Google Scholar Metrics - 2010-2014 , and Publish or Perish. 

Citation Searching in Google Scholar

The citation information in Google Scholar is extracted from the scholarly journal articles within the Scholar database, and from the U.S. patents contained in the Google Patents database (linked below). Users have the option to eliminate the patents as the source of citation data and/or the option to include citations from legal journals and opinions from the federal and state courts. If a publication has been cited by these sources, it will contain a "Cited By Link" in its entry; clicking on that link will display the citing journal articles and patents (and the court opinions, if selected)

  How to Find Citation Counts via Google Scholar and "Who is Citing Whom"

  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. Select Advanced Scholar Search (down arrow on the search box).
  3. Enter the appropriate search terms.  Enter just enough information to find what you need - do not fill in the complete search form.    
  4. Click on the Search Scholar button.
  5. Locate the correct article in the search results list.
  6. If the article was cited by others, you will see a "Cited by" link at the bottom of the record. Click this link to view who has cited this item. For more information about searching, access  Google Scholar's Help page below.

Be aware:

  • Google Scholar does not index all scholarly articles; therefore, some articles citing the item under study may not be counted.
  • Google Scholar includes citations from an array of sources in its cited by calculation, including PowerPoints and Word documents, and gives everything an equal rank.
  • Author names can be tricky to search and the results can vary greatly depending on how the name is entered; we recommend searching only the author's last name and combining that with the main title in quotations.
  • Variants in how the item is cited can result in more than one entry for the item under study.
  • The term "citation" in brackets [CITATION] at the beginning of an entry, indicates that the full text of the item is not accessible through Google Scholar. To see the full text of the item, use PITTCat+ (for books or article title) or under the E-Journals tab on the library homepage, search for specific ejournals by TITLE or ISSN number (for journal title).

Mendeley

    A free reference manager and a research network that allows you to keep track of your colleagues' publications,   conference participations, awards, etc., and helps you discover people with research interests similar to yours.

Mendeley provides following metrics:

  • Number of followers each member has
  • Number of people followed by the member
  • Number of readers for each publication (number of - members have an item in their collection) as well as their geographic location and status
  • Ranking of publication outlets by readership (e.g. Nature is the top outlet by the number of readership)

Sharing Capability

Along with the ability to import documents and citations, Mendeley works as a social networking tool to create opportunities for collaboration with options that allow you to:

  • Create and build a profile representing your background and research interests
  • Browse and search Mendeley’s crowd-sourced research catalog
  • Search, follow, and join groups related to your research interests
  • Connect with fellow researchers and follow their activity from the Dashboard

Create a Mendeley Group

ResearchGate

  

 

A free tool built by scientists, for scientists, with over 5 million members. Build a profile linked to your      publications, data, or other outputs; get statistics on views and use, and find collaborators.

How to Identify Collaborators Via Research Gate

  • Create a ResearchGate profile of yourself
  • Add your publications by clicking add publications" and choosing "author match".
  • Select one or two topics of your interest to follow.
  • Select researchers sharing similar subject fields to yours to follow. You can also invite other authors, including your co-authors onto Research Gate.  Once you are following individuals, you will be informed of the activities in your network.