Skip to main content

Soldier, Writer, Artist, Photographer: Accounts from Europe, 1914-1945 @ Pitt Special Collections: Non-ULS Resources

A guide to accompany the work on exhibit from Fall 2015-Spring 2016 at Hillman Library.

Outside Resources

The Lee Miller Archives

A private archive in England dedicated to conserving and publishing the work of Lee Miller. About 60,000 negatives are held by the Lee Miller Archives, as well as other personal letters, manuscripts, and effects.

Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall and Museum 

Soldiers & Sailors Memorial Hall & Museum is the nation’s only military memorial dedicated to honoring the men and women of all branches of service, from all generations and conflicts. The historic building has stood in honor of our veterans since 1910. Through personally donated artifacts and mementos, the museum offers a unique look into American military history by telling the stories of the individuals who served our country since the Civil War through today. 

The National Archives: The Art of War

Highlighting artists known for their war related work, mostly from WWI and WWII. Includes illustrations, caricatures, comics, work printed in magazines, etc.

WWII Database

Collection of 22,346 World War II pictures, 1,813 of which are in color.

International Center for Photography

Founded in 1974 by Cornell Capa to keep the legacy of "Concerned Photography" alive, a form of social documentary photography those like his brother, Robert Capa, had practiced. The Center holds over 100,000 photographs, and also an impressive collection of photographically illustrated magazines from WWI and WWII.

Imperial War Museums

A group of 5 wartime museums scattered throughout Britain that cover conflicts from WWI to the present day. Their focus is on wartime experience, particularly of the individual.