Skip to main content

Non-Fiction Writing Workshop - Oakland Campus: Dissertations and Theses

A guide for graduate student research in ENG 2310 with professor Maggie Jones.

Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) offers access to over 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and master's thesis from the United States and Worldwide. Representing 1,000 graduate schools and universities, PQDT provides abstracts and previews along with full-text to over 1.9 million entries from 1997 to the present. If not available full text, some theses can be purchased online through the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses service.

The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author.

International Dissertations Online Resources

Pitt Dissertations

2004-Present

The University of Pittsburgh has developed an university-wide digital repository system called D-Scholarship that contains our Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). This system provides text-based PDF files of thesis and dissertations published through the university from 2004 forward. ETDs can contain non-text elements such as multimedia, sound, video, and hypertext links. At Pitt, ETDs are also available on PITTCat+, the university's online catalog.

Before 2004

If you are trying to locate theses and dissertations published before 2004 by the university, search PITTCat Classic. Some Pitt theses and dissertations may also be full-text in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (1997-Present).

PITTCat Classic is an excellent starting point for locating print dissertations and theses in the University Library System. Dissertations are held in various ULS locations including Hillman Library, Hillman Library Microforms, Archives Service Center, Storage Facilities, and Departmental Libraries.