Skip to main content

Readings In Contemporary Non-Fiction - Oakland Campus: Searching the Catalog

A guide for students in ENGWRT 1390 class with professor Maggie Jones.

PITTCat+

PittCat+, University of Pittsburgh, University Library System

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

PITTCat+is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

PITTCat Classic

PITTCat Classic is our library catalog. It will help you find books, magazines, videos, and other whole items in our collection.  PITTCat Classic does not lead you to individual articles, but will let you search for a particular journal.

  Search   
  
    Keyword    
  
   Course Reserves    
    
 
  Search for:
 
 
 Limit to (optional):
 
  Search by:
  
 
 
 
 

Search and Browse

Search Collection Guides

Advanced Search

A collection guide will provide you with background information and an inventory of the records found within our archival collections, including those in the Archives Service Center and the Center for American Music. See our Guide to Using the Special Collections for information on how to use our collection guides.

Browse Our Collection Guides

Searching Techniques

Combining Search Terms  - You can craft complex searches using Boolean operators AND, OR, and  NOT. These operators must be written in ALL CAPS.  The PITTCat+ searching default is the AND operator.

Phrase Searching - PITTCat+ allows for phrase searching with the use of “  “. For example, the search "pittsburgh renaissance" will find items with the phrase pittsburgh renaissance in them.

Wildcard and TrucationYou can use wildcard (*) and truncation (?) symbols to search PITTCat+.

Non-Fiction Journals