Skip to main content

Writing in Economics - Oakland Campus: Finding Articles

This guide is designed to assist students in the economics department and others writing research papers with an economic or socio-economic focus.

Discovering Articles

Databases that list and describe individual articles that have been published in the economic literature (indexing databases llike EBSCO's EconLit) are good sources of information for your paper. Those listed here can help you identify relevant peer-reviewed and scholarly literature.

Search Engines

Search engines search broadly across the web. Remember that links to full text will only work if the article is freely available or the ULS has access to the article and you are searching through the Pitt network or have logged into EZProxy.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is often helpful for finding scholarly articles on your topic. It includes links to articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.  Many articles provide links to other articles that have cited the first article. Some articles may contain statistical content. 

Science Databases

Economics Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.  Econlit and NBER are the most important to start your research with. 

Socio-Economic and Political Databases

These multidisciplinary databases contain in-depth articles and information on economic conditions and global issues.  

PITTCat+

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

 

PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Do We Own It?

Research databases often list articles from more sources than the library owns. If you already have a reference to a specific article, or a database record does not link to the full text of an article, how can you find out if the article is available?

Can't Find It?

If we do not have a particular book, article or other resource in our collection, you can borrow it from another campus or local, national or worldwide library through our free interlibrary loan services.