Skip to main content

Writing in Economics - Oakland Campus: Chicago Author-Date Citation Style

This guide is designed to assist students in the economics department and others writing research papers with an economic or socio-economic focus.

Online Version of Chicago

Chicago Manual of Style

Citing Sources Using a Citation Manager

Keep track of all of your citations and easily create bibliographies. Pitt's library resources work with tools such as Mendeley and EndNote, and allow you to import citations from sources like PITTCat+ and article databases. 

Helpful Endnote User's Guide

Examples of the Chicago Author-Date Style used in Economics

Chicago is a documentation syle that has been published by the Chicago University Press since 1906. This citation style incorporates rules of grammar and punctuation common in American English. Typically, Chicago style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) author-date style and (2) notes and bibliography style. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and the nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.

The author-date style has long been used by those in Economics and other sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided. Instead of a Bibliography of items related to your work, only actual items cited in your paper or thesis are included in the attached References page. 

Examples:

Journal Article - Chicago/Turabian in the Author/Date Style [preferred in Economics, and some other sciences]

Brandt, Loren, Debin Ma, and Thomas G. Rawski. 2014. "From Divergence to Convergence: Reevaluating the History behind China's Economic Boom." Journal Of Economic Literature 52, no. 1: 45-123. EconLit, EBSCOhost (accessed January 11, 2016).

Note that when items have multiple authors only the first author's name is inverted in the Reference List.

For additional examples see Chapter 15 "Documentation II: Author-Date References" in the print or online Chicago Manual of Style.

 

Author/Date Style

In-text Citation

References NOT a Bibliography

A book

(Pollan 2006, 99–100)

Pollan, Michael. 2006. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin.

An article in a print journal

(Weinstein 2009, 440)

Weinstein, Joshua I. 2009. “The Market in Plato’s Republic.” Classical Philology 104:439–58.

An article in an electronic journal

(Kossinets and Watts 2009, 411)

Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. 2009. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115:405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. doi:10.1086/599247.

A website

(Google 2009)

Google. 2009. “Google Privacy Policy.” Last modified March 11. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

(Source: Official Chicago Manual website)

Examples of Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style used in other Humanities

The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography.

Material Type

Notes/Bibliography Style

A book in print

Note Style:  1. Michael Pollan, The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 99–100.

Duplicate Note:  2. Pollan, Omnivore's Dilemma, 3. 

Bibliography: Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.

An article in a print journal

Note Style: 1. Joshua I. Weinstein, "The Market in Plato’s Republic," Classical Philology 104 (2009): 440.

Duplicate Note: 2. Weinstein, "Plato’s Republic," 452–53.

Bibliography: Weinstein, Joshua I. "The Market in Plato’s Republic." Classical Philology 104 (2009): 439–58.

An article in an electronic journal

Note Style: 1. Gueorgi Kossinets and Duncan J. Watts, “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network,” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 411, accessed February 28, 2010, doi:10.1086/599247.

Duplicate Note: Kossinets and Watts, “Origins of Homophily,” 439.

Bibliography: Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. doi:10.1086/599247.

A website

Note Style: 1.“Google Privacy Policy,” last modified March 11, 2009, http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

Duplicate Note: “Google Privacy Policy.”

Bibliography: Google. “Google Privacy Policy.” Last modified March 11, 2009. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

(Source: Official Chicago Manual website)

Online Chicago Citation Resources

Putting it all together

Organizing your research and putting your ideas down on paper can be difficult.  You can get writing help at the Writing Center.

Writing Centers

Need someone to review your paper? Visit the Writing Center or Academic Success Center on your campus.