Skip to main content

Class Visits to Special Collections @ Pitt

This guide will provide information to Faculty about what is possible in teaching with Special Collections and scheduling class visits to the department.

Reading Room Set-Up

The Special Collections Department's Reading Room can be arranged to support a lecture-style course accomodating up to 40 students. The Professor can refer to rare books or manuscripts which are displayed on the table while conducting their lecture.

                                                    

The Reading Room tables in the Special Collections Department may serve as learning stations, which can accommodate up to 40 students.  Each station may contain books and manuscripts that represent a different genre, time period, format, etc. Students can rotate through all of the different stations to evaluate and carefully work with the materials that were selected for display. 

                                      

The Archives Service Center (ASC) is the repository for manuscript and record collections that document the history of Pittsburgh and the Western Pennsylvania region, including the University of Pittsburgh. The ASC also welcomes class visits and is located on the second floor the Library Resource Facility in Point Breeze, about 3 miles from the main campus. A shuttle runs between Hillman and the Library Resource Facility M-F.  Materials can be transferred to Special Collections for class visits.

                                                                     

The Frick Fine Arts Library welcomes professors to hold classes at its library in order to help support the History of Art and Architecure Department. Materials from Special Collections can be transferred to the library for classroom use.


                                                                            

Loading ...