Skip to main content

Class Visits to Special Collections @ Pitt

This guide will provide information to Faculty about what is possible in teaching with Special Collections and scheduling class visits to the department.

Class Visits

To schedule a class visit or to discuss possibilities for class visits and research projects, please send an email to Special Collections at uls-specialcollections@pitt.edu.

Here is a sampling of classes that have visited us:  

  • History of the  Book                                                                                                                                
  • Critical Approaches to Children's Literature
  • Childhood Books
  • The Modern French Novel
  • The Medeival Imagination
  • Enlightenment to the Revolution
  • Gothic Art

Special Collections would be happy to coordinate an Open House for your academic department or colleagues to learn more about our collections and how you might use them in your teaching or research.  If interested in scheduling an Open House, please send us an email at uls-specialcollections@pitt.edu                                  

Images from a children's literature open house, held September 2013, which featured

                                         materials from the Nesbitt Children's Book Collection                                         

Special Collections welcomes opportunities to present an introductory class or orientation to introduce primary source materials, historic documents, or rare books. We can also visit your classroom and provide students with a brief overview of our collections, how to find us, and the services we offer.

If you wish to schedule an orientation or information session for your students, please email us at: uls-specialcollections@pitt.edu

Loading ...