Skip to main content

Library Resources for Advisors - Oakland Campus: Research Help

An electronic guide highlighting library resources and services to students in the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences.

Checking out Materials

Undergraduate students are permitted to check out up to 100 books at a time.  The general loan period is 28 days with 3 renewals.  To view your library account or renew an item, use My Library Account.

Additional lending information, such as loan exceptions and fines, can be found on the Length of Loans & Fines page.

Course Reserves

Course reserves are materials that instructors place on hold at the library that are able to be checked our for a limited time period (often 2 hours at a time).  To search and check out a course reserve item:

  1. Go to Course Reserves
  2. Use the drop-down boxes to select your professor and/or your course number
  3. Click the search box
  4. Click on the title of the material that you need
  5. Write down the call number and the library where the book is located
  6. Take it to the corresponding library front desk
  7. A library staff member will retrieve the material for you

More information about accessing course reserve materials can be found at:

PITTCat+

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

 

PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Starting out? Try Credo.

Search

Databases

A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword.  Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in ULS databases is the high quality, scholarly research information that most professors want.  Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles.  To search a database:

  • If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A-Z list. 
  • If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3331 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.