Skip to main content

Religion in Asia - Oakland Campus: Databases

This guide was designed to supplement the material in class lectures by presenting relevant databases to use in your search for books and articles. There is also information on how to distinguish between popular and scholarly articles.

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Pitt Passport Login Image

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs

Databases

A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in ULS databases is the high quality, scholarly research information that most professors want. Most of our databases offer links to the full text of articles. To search a database:

  • If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at  Databases by Title
  • If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3331 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.

Suggested Databases . .

These databases are excellent starting points for your research because they cover all aspects of religious studies.

Watch This!

alt=""

Credo Reference

Credo Reference serves as a gateway to full-text information from a large variety of reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and quotation sources.

You can search by image, create a concept map of your topic, browse all topic pages by category, or select topics from A to Z.

When you are done searching, you can save, print, export, or email your search results by selecting the "Save" icon next to each result. Click on "Saved Results" at the top of the page, and choose which option you prefer.