Skip to main content

Bioethics - Oakland Campus: Databases

This guide is intended primarily to assist students in the Interdisciplinary Master of Arts in Bioethics program within the University's Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, but may also be useful to anyone interested in finding information on bioethics.

What is a Database?

When we refer to a 'database' in libraries, we are referring to online resources that index journals, journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and other content.

These databases make it easy for users to search across multiple content types and content providers without having to search each provider individually.

Some databases offer access to a broad variety of content, and are often good starting points for research. Other databases are subject specific and are useful for finding resources related to a specific field of research.

All of our databases offer multiple options for searching and refining search results, and many of the databases offer access to full-text articles.

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Pitt Passport Login Image

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Bioethics Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

Finding Databases at Pitt

The University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS) subscribes to a large number of databases to help you find research materials. Use the links below to find the types of databases for which you are looking.

Choosing a Database

The type of database you choose for your research will depend on the type of project you are considering and the types of research questions you are trying to answer.

In many cases, preliminary research to help formulate your research questions and solidify your research project can be best conducted in a general purpose database. On the other hand, if you have a solid research theme, working in a subject specific database often results in more in-depth content.

Use the links below to see some examples of general purpose and subject specific databases. The most general database is listed first.