Skip to main content

Geographic Information System (GIS) Resources - Oakland Campus: US Data

This guide provides information and resources for Pitt students and faculty on the GIS resources available in Hillman Libarary and on the Web.

National Data and Maps on the Web

US Data Available in Digital Scholarship Commons

ArcGIS StreetMap USA Included with StreetMap are over 31 million road segments across the United States as well as many other landmark features needed to produce quality maps. The data include streets, highways, airports, hospitals, parks, rivers, lakes, counties, and states, all with ready-made legends. (Pitt users only)

ESRI Data & Maps Provides basic spatial data such as internal political boundaries, population, railroads, rivers, water bodies, and more. 

Geolytics databases Download nationwide census data and maps from the decennial censuses, 1970-2000. We have access to the following databases: Census 1970, Census 1980, Census 1990, Census 2000 Long Form (SF3), Census 1990 in 2000 Boundaries, and Neighborhood Change. The Neighborhood Change database gives users access to Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. With this database you can access data for all five decades normalized to 2010 tract boundaries. This lets you view and display data as if the 2010 tracts existed and all the data is weighted to these areas. (Pitt users only)

TIGER/Line Files The TIGER/Line files are a digital database of geographic features, such as roads, railroads, rivers, lakes, political boundaries, census statistical boundaries, etc. covering the entire United States. The data base contains information about these features such as their location in latitude and longitude, the name, the type of feature, address ranges for most streets, the geographic relationship to other features, and other related information. They are the public product created from the Census Bureau's TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) data base of geographic information. Available in the GIS room but you can also download these from the Census Bureau.

 

Where Can I Find More Data?

The resources listed above are major or frequently used resources held by Hillman Library . We receive many other sets of data on CD-ROM that can be used with Geographic Information Systems (GIS) software.

You can use PITTCat+ to find what is available. (Please note that, although PITTCat+ lists our holdings, it does not necessary list individual coverage (for example parks in Pittsburgh) included on our CD-ROMs.).

If you can't find what you need, for specialized assistance please contact: ULS- GIS Services

     

Liaison Librarian

Aimee Sgourakis's picture
Aimee Sgourakis
Contact:
207C Hillman Library, Second Floor
412-648-7730