Skip to main content

Anthropology Resources - Oakland Campus: Audio/Visual Materials

This guide is intended to provide an overview of resources available at the University of Pittsburgh Oakland Campus for research and study in the field of Anthropology.

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online is a streaming video database intended to be "a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture." With coverage of all the world's continents, this database includes both new and classic documentaries, the work of the some of the field's most influential documentarians, as well as some feature films and unpublished material. The online availability of this material promises to greatly enhance the academic study of anthropology.

Anthropology Audio/Visual Materials

Hillman Library's Stark Media Services holds a sizable collection of visual materials in the field of anthropology, in the form of DVDs, videos, filmstrips, etc.

Because Pitt also has a strong ethnomusicology program, the Music Library holds a strong collection of traditional world music, field recordings, etc., as well as some video recordings.

Circulation of these items is restricted, but both libraries have listening and viewing stations for the use of students, faculty, and staff.

Additionally, Pitt now subscribes to some excellent databases containing anthropological audio and visual recordings. These databases are highlighted on this page.

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound is a streaming audio database intended to be "a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions." Containing field recordings from various cultures spanning the world, the database is notable in that it includes the full catalog of Ethnic Folkways recordings, as well as the catalogs of such other labels as Cook and Monitor records. These recordings are often accompanied by scholarly liner notes in the form of PDFs. Online access to this huge array of sound recordings provides a great enhancement to the study of the world's cultures.