Skip to main content

Anthropology Resources - Oakland Campus: Journals

This guide is intended to provide an overview of resources available at the University of Pittsburgh Oakland Campus for research and study in the field of Anthropology.

Journal of Human Evolution

Full text of this important journal is available online through Science Direct extending back through 1993. Older volumes can be found on campus at Hillman Library and Langley Library.

Evolutionary Anthropology

Full text of this important journal is available online through Wiley extending back through 1996. Older issues are in storage and articles from those issues can be requested for delivery.

Current Anthropology


Full text of the complete run of this important journal is available online through JSTOR.

Anthropology Journals

Journals, serving as outlets for the most up-to-date and scholarly research, are indispensable tools in academia, and the field of anthropology is no exception. Ranging from very general to the most specialized, the University Library System is careful to provide access to as many journal titles as possible for the Pitt community. This page highlights some of the most important ones, but remember that these are only a select few of the anthropology journals that we collect.

A great deal of journal full text is available online through JSTOR, which has collections for anthropology and archaeology. In some cases, the most recent two years of issues are not yet available there because of contractual obligations.

This page's section on bibliometrics provides an introduction to the measurement of the 'impact' of academic work produced by journals and scholars.

American Anthropologist


An organ of the American Anthropological Association, full text of the complete run of this journal is available online through Anthrosource.

Ethnology

A publication of Pitt's own Department of Anthropology, full text of Ethnology is available online extending back through 1990 through Ebsco. Pitt's website also provides full text going back through 2008. Older issues, beginning with the very first volume in 1962, are kept in storage and articles from those issues can be requested. 

Bibliometrics

Bibliometrics refers to methods of measuring the impact of scholarly work by counting the number of times an article or journal has been cited by other scholarly work. This kind of measurement can be performed using various databases provided by the Web of Knowledge.

Once you are in the Web of Knowledge, you can click 'Web of Science' and limit your results to the Social Sciences Citation Index (the most useful citation index for anthropological scholarship). After you search by topic, author, publication name, or other search criteria, your list of results will include information as to the number of times each work has been cited. This database covers articles going back through 1992.

The Web of Knowledge Journal Citation Reports database, after you select the Social Sciences edition- Anthropology, provides a list of relevant journals along with statistics indicating how many times those publications have been cited.

For more information on bibliometrics, see the dedicated Libguide here.

Cultural Anthropology

Perhaps the leading journal in cultural anthropology, full text of this journal is available online, extending back through 1986, through JSTOR. Older issues are in storage and articles from those issues can be requested for delivery.

Journal of Archaeological Science

Full text of this important journal is available online through Science Direct extending back through 1993. Older volumes can be found on campus at Hillman Library and Langley Library.