Skip to main content

Anthropology Resources - Oakland Campus: Databases

This guide is intended to provide an overview of resources available at the University of Pittsburgh Oakland Campus for research and study in the field of Anthropology.

Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive, international index covering periodical literature in all the field's subdiscplines, with coverage dating back to the late nineteenth century. It combines Harvard University's Anthropological Literature Database and the Anthropological Index published by the Royal Anthropological Institute and the British Museum, and also includes interdisciplinary journals.

The database provides fully-indexed citations and in some cases, full text.

Anthrosource

 

Anthrosource is a product of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It contains current issues of the AAA's most important scholarly journals, such as American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology, and the Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology, as well as back issues of all AAA journals. The database offers full text and various methods to browse and search for information.

Anthropology Databases

This page offers an overview of the online databases to which Pitt subscribes that help to provide a foundation for anthropological research.

The databases highlighted on this page are specialized in the field of anthropology. Relevant information may also be found in other multidisciplinary databases, such as:

For information on databases containing anthropological audio/visual material, please visit the Audio/Visual Materials tab on this guide.

 

 

Abstracts in Anthropology

                                                                                  

Abstracts in Anthropology is the electronic version of the field's only comprehensive abstracting journal. The database does not contain full text, but it does contain thousands of abstracts, indexed by author and title, dating back to 2001. It covers the full gamut of anthropological subdisciplines, indexing articles from several hundred periodicals.

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures is the online version of the Human Relations Area Files, Inc., a non-profit institution based at Yale University that has been dedicated to ethnological research since 1949. Containing a great wealth of primary source material, eHRAF is browsable and searchable by subjects, cultures, regions, and countries, and contains some full text which is keyword-indexed.

Encyclopedia of Human Evolution

Not so much a database as it is an online encyclopedia, Pitt has recently purchased access to the Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution. Edited by Bernard Wood, this publication is a comprehensive reference source in paleoanthropology with thousands of entries; included references are a valuable tool to enable further research.