Skip to main content

Curtis Theatre Collection @ Pitt Special Collections: Visual Materials

The Curtis Collection documents the history of the performing arts in Pittsburgh

Visual Materials

The majority of visual material in the Curtis Collection is divided into two major categories : photographs and posters. There are nearly 20,000 photographs and over 500 posters available. Researchers in costuming and set design, theatre historians, and film buffs will all find Curtis' visual collections a valuable tool.

Visual materials are not indexed on PITTCat+, or in the Curtis Inventory. They are indexed in a card catalog in the Special Collections Department.  To inquire about photos, contact the Special Collections staff who will be happy to help you find what you need.   Photos may not be taken out of the Special Collections Reading Room.  Information about reproduction services can be found here.

Photographs

Visual materials are not indexed on Pittcat+. They are indexed in a card catalog in the Special Collections Department.  A collection guide has been written for the Pittsburgh related photographs in our collection.  We are currently working on a collection guide describing our larger performing arts photographs.  To inquire about photos, come to the Special Collections Reading Room and the staff will be happy to help you find what you need.  Or contact the Curtis curator by email or phone.   Photos may not be taken out of the Special Collections Reading Room.  Information about reproduction services can be found here.

Posters

Many of the posters in the Curtis Collection are of local origin, with nearly 200 from University of Pittsburgh productions, and dozens from area groups such as the Pittsburgh Savoyards and Pittsburgh Public Theatre.

There are also posters from festivals such as Canada's annual Shaw Festival, touring companies, films, and entertainers.