Skip to main content

Curtis Theatre Collection @ Pitt Special Collections: Acting Editions, Books, Journals

The Curtis Collection documents the history of the performing arts in Pittsburgh

Recent Acquisitions

Souvenir programs for the films The Covered Wagon (1923) and The Thief of Badgad (1924).  These programs were recently donated by John and Barbara Hamill.

PITTCat+

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

 

PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Books in the Curtis Collection

Curtis Collection Bookplate

The Curtis Theatre Collection houses some 1300 volumes on theatre, including works on history and theory as well as practical treaties on stagecraft and makeup. Many of the books are rare or early editions, such as the 1919 edition of David Belasco's Theatre Through its Stage Door, a copy of the Rose Tattoo inscribed by Tennessee WIlliams "to the Curtis Theatre Collection, with my thanks", or specialized titles like Sarah Bernhardt Vue par Les Nadar, a French book of portraits of Bernhardt by Nadar, the era's eminent photographer.

Curtis books, like all materials in Special Collections, do not circulate, and must be used in the Special Collections Reading Room.

Acting Editions

There are over 7500 acting editions and scripts in the Curtis Collection.  The majority of these are represented in PITTCat+.  There is an index (by both title and author) to the first 5000 available in the Special Collections Reading Room and at the Hillman Reference Desk.

Journals

There is a small collection of journals in Curtis.  Most of the titles are valuable and/or unique.  We have a near complete run of Theatre Magazine, which was the preeminent theatre journal of the early twentieth century.  We also have current subscriptions to the London journal Theatre Record, Playbill, and Marquee.

All journals in the Curtis Collection are indexed in PITTCat+.