Skip to main content

Muslims in a Global Context - Oakland Campus: Subject Databases

This guide provides selected high-quality resources for those interested in Muslims around the world and in Islam. It features both subject and religious databases and links as well as pages for related mini-courses.

Arts, Humanities & Literature Databases

The databases below are useful when searching for Global Studies topics and articles related to literature, the arts, and humanities. The country, theme or topic you select may affect the databases you choose. You can find additional databases by checking Databases by Subject --  Global Studies and GSPIA.

Quick Links

Use these quick links to access lists of related databases, the listing of e-journals, or to access library services from off-campus.

Government- and UN-Related Databases

These databases, produced by the U.S. government and the United Nations, provide a wealth of information about the area and related topics including statistical information.

General Databases

These general multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of topics, including country information and issues related to the countries and global studies.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is often helpful for finding scholarly articles on your topic.

If you are on-campus, you will be able to view articles located in databases leased by the university. If you are off-campus, you may need to access the articles through remote access. See the instructions for connecting from off-campus on the ULS homepage.

Socioeconomic, Political, and International Affairs Databases

These databases provide information about cultural, social, economic, and political issues.