Skip to main content

Asian Country Research @ Pitt: Statistical Databases

This guide features selected high-quality resources on the global, political, economic, social and cultural aspects of the continent of Asia and its countries. It features individual country pages as well as sources searchable by topic or country.

PASSPORT for International Data

PASSPORT is our most useful database for exporting comparative international country level data into Excel.

Guide to Finding International Statistics

When researching international statistics it is helpful to know what kind of statistics you need and what organizations collect that data.

For a single country (or city data) check the country's statistical abstract. When comparing multiple countries, it is best to get all similar data from the same source. Use the PDF's table to determine who collects the type of data you need.

Ask-A-Librarian

If you have a question or need more information please contact one of our professional librarians instantly with Ask-A-Librarian Chat.

You need to enable JavaScript in your browser to chat with us.

For more ways to ask your question, please visit our Ask-A-Librarian page.

How to Find Data and Analysis

How to locate data and analysis reports in Passport.

Step 1: Enter the Passport database. Search Full Tree to browse the categories and topics content

Near the top of the page, look for the Search the Full Tree box. This option allows you to browse the content of the database by category and topic.

Step 2: Click Go.

You should now see a list of results with two separate categories: Industries, which is listed first, and Economic and Consumer Topics, which follows it.

Tip: You can use the and to expand and shorten the lists.Navigate through Economic and Consumer Topics, Digital Consumer, Possession of Digital Devices, Possession of Smart Phone

Step 3: Select your topic.

For example, to find information on smart phones, follow this path (see image to the right --->)

Economic and Consumer Topics -> Digital Consumer -> Possession of Digital Devices -> Possession of Smart Phone.

Tip: You can also Type a specific category or topic to filter the available items.
 

Step 4: Once you have selected your topic, scroll to the bottom of the page to select Next.

Step 5: You will now need to select a geography. You can choose the world, regions, or individual countries.

For example, to find the USA, you can use the + next to North America.

You may also use the search box above the geographiesIn the illustration below, when you type China, you will see the options available.
Selection of geography by selecting from options and typing in the search box.

Step 6: Click Search.

Tip: Data or statistics are on the left, analysis is on the right.
Display of the results page structure with data or statistics on the left and analysis on the right.

For more information on viewing and manipulating statistics, watch Understanding and Manipulating Passport's Data.

For more robust ways to screen and filter analyst reports, watch Finding Topic Pages.

Loading

How to Use and Manipulate Data

How to Understand and Manipulate in Passport.

When you enter Market Statistics, you will see a table similar to the one shown below. The table elements are identified in the image.

Locations on the page are marked to show where the various options to manipulate data exist. Most data options can be found in a toolbar right above the table.

For an overview on how to manipulate data, watch Getting to Passport's Data and Analysis.

For more robust ways to screen and filter analyst reports, watch Finding Topic Pages.

Loading

How to Use Topic Pages

How to Find Topic Pages

Passport topic pages can be found by hovering your mouse over the categories found in top navigation menu.

Hovering over the Economies category shows the topics under it.

On the results page, you can see various articles and analyst coverage along with the latest research. The boxes, or quick links,may have different content based on your topic. The image below shows the boxes for Business Dynamics. If you select content in a box, the Go button in the box will turn blue and be clickable. In the image below, the Dashboard content is selected and is now clickable.

The boxes, or quick links, will have content that changes. In this example, the dashboard option is selected and clickable. 

Loading

City Information

Most city data (statistics) has to come from offical government websites of the city or country or from statistical abstracts and handbooks of the individual country. Most international organizations and databases generally provide only country level data.  Encyclopedias like the Encyclopedia Britannica Online are useful forescriptions of cities and their statistics.

Country Information and Statistics

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is often helpful for finding articles on your topic.  Some articles will contain statistical content.