Guides: Asian Country Research @ Pitt: Regions of Asia

United Nations Subdivisions

Regions of Asia

The regions of Asia vary according to geographic literature and organization. The United Nations geoscheme for Asia has been subdivided by the UN Statistics Division:

Central Asia
Kazakhstan
Kyrgzstan
Tajikistan
Turkmenistan
Uzbekistan

Eastern Asia
China
China, Hong Kong
China, Macao
Japan
Mongolia
North Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea
South Korea, Republic of Korea

Southern Asia
Afghanistan
Bangladesh
Bhutan
India
Iran
Maldives
Nepal
Pakistan
Sri Lanka

South-Eastern Asia
Brunei
Cambodia
Indonesia
Laos
Malaysia
Myanmar
Philippines
Singapore
Thailand
Timor-Leste
Viet Nam

Western Asia
Armenia
Azerbaijan
Bahrain
Cyprus
Georgia
Iraq
Israel
Jordan
Kuwait
Lebanon
Oman
Qatar
Saudi Arabia
Palestine
Syrian Arab Republic
Turkey
United Arab Emirates

Related Global Studies and Area Studies Guides

Chinese Studies
Links to multiple guides (including Chinese Studies Resources and Services @ Pitt) -- which introduce major Chinese print and electronic resources accessible to Pitt-affiliated users.
Global Studies & GSPIA Guides
Links to multiple interdisciplinary guides with Global Studies themes and topics.
Japanese Studies
Links to multiple guides that explore bibliographic resources in Japanese Studies. The guides cover both electronic and print resources, providing instruction in effective methods to find needed articles and books and search databases.
Korean Studies
Links to multiple guides covering Chinese, Japanese, and Korean Studies research.
Middle East Studies and Research @Pitt
This LibGuide is designed to provide you with scholarly, high-quality print-based and web-based resources about the Middle East. It also identifies major national and international resources. The information included here is not all inclusive and should be treated as starting points for your research.
Russian and East European Studies Resources @ Pitt
Provides information & annotated links to some of the best resources for doing research on Russia (or the former Soviet Union) and East European countries. Individual country pages link to the official government website as well as major news sources and statistical agencies.

Development Organizations

These organizations' similar subdivisions of Asia are found on their websites

Asian Development Bank
Regional development bank working to alleviate poverty of Asian countries through its financial investments
The Asia Foundation
Nonprofit international development organization based in San Francisco with network offices located in 18 Asian countries and Washington, D.C.
UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Maps and Atlases

CIA Maps
Maps searchable by country are available on the CIA website.
CORONA Atlas of the Middle East
Satellite images of the Middle East and regions of Asia which have been made freely available through the University of Arkansas
David Rumsey Collection
Large digital collection of privately held antique maps from around the world.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
This extensive collection of maps has been made available through the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas - Austin
United Nations Geospatial Information Section
UN maps searchable by region, peacekeeping operation or mission
World Atlas
The World Atlas website provides general information about the countries of the world, including maps, timezone information, and weather information

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Asian Country Research @ Pitt

Liaison Librarian

United Nations Subdivisions

Regions of Asia

Related Global Studies and Area Studies Guides

Development Organizations

Maps and Atlases