Skip to main content

Audio-Visual Resources @ Pitt Archives: Politics and Civic Organizations

Guide to audio-visual collections at the Archives Service Center. Including information on rights and reproductions.

Political Papers

Mayor Joseph M. Barr Photograph Collection, 1956-1969, AIS.1986.10 Contains 154 photographic images of Joseph M. Barr (1906-1982), who first served Pennsylvania in 1940 as the state's youngest state senator, and as Mayor of Pittsburgh from 1959 to1970.

 K. Leroy Irvis Papers, 1947-1995, AIS.1971.06 K. Leroy Irvis (1919-2006), a Democrat, represented Pittsburgh in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives from 1958 to1988. His achievements include being elected Speaker of the House in 1977, the first African-American to hold that position in any state. 

Charles C. McGovern Papers,1893-1981, AIS.1982.08  Photographs documenting various aspects of Charles C. McGovern's (1873- 1962) political and personal life, dating from 1924 to 1962.

Dick Thornburgh Papers, 1932- , AIS.1998.30 Photographs for this collection can be found in series XVIII. Of the 6,000 images, 488 photographs are available online, which follow Thornburgh's life and career from 1932 to 2004. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Civic Organizations

Oliver M. Kaufmann Photograph Collection, AIS.1978.12  Contains 281 selected images which appear online, dating 1912-1941, and depicting activities at the Irene Kaufmann Settlement, including its Emma Farm Camp, the Better Baby Clinic, the Milk Well, and the Better Neighborhood Contest. 

Kingsley Association Records, 1894-1980, AIS.1970.05  Contains 180 selected images which appear online, dating 1900-1955, showing organizational activities, the Lillian Home fresh air camp established in 1903, Kingsley House, and conditions in the Hill District, and  East Liberty.  

Urban League of Pittsburgh Records, 1915-1963, AIS.1981.11 Contains 63 images which appear online, dating 1923-1958, showing group portraits from conventions and youth conferences, individual portraits of both Urban League Fellows and Staff, housing and work conditions for black employees, and children at Camp James Weldon.

National and World Issues

Edith Tait Deedrick Photograph Collection of the Socialist Party, ca. 1910-1920, AIS.1978.20 Contains 83 gelatin silver photographic prints of varying sizes, plus two copy negatives that document the members of the Socialist Party in Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania circa 1910 to 1920.

Donald M. Goldstein Collection, 1886-2005, UA.90.F78 Series XIII contains images removed from the first twelve series for preservation purposes. Most of the files relate to World War II and consist of original photographs, reprints, negatives, illustrations, and photocopied images. The items are further described in the two subseries: Non-World War II and World War II. 

James R. Cox Papers, 1923-1950, AIS.1969.05 Contains 426 photographs that document Pittsburgh's "Pastor to the Poor," Father Cox's activities between 1923 and 1950, particularly those relating to his work with the poor, pilgrimages, and his presidential campaign as a candidate for the Jobless Party. Select images are available online.