Skip to main content

Audio-Visual Resources @ Pitt Archives: University of Pittsburgh History

Guide to audio-visual collections at the Archives Service Center. Including information on rights and reproductions.

About University Archives Photographs

The University Archives Photograph Collection visually documents the history of the University of Pittsburgh from the 1880s to 2006, with more being added regularly. Subjects include the Oakland and branch campuses, faculty, staff, students, and events. Over 500 images relating to Pitt's history are available online.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Images can be found on topics such as:

  • Campus Buildings  
  • Faculty
  • Regional Campuses
  • Staff
  • Student Life
  • University Departments
  • University History

A  guide devoted to the University Archives is also available.

Photographic Collections in the University Archives

Allegheny Observatory Records, 1850-1967, UA.5.1  This collection contains manuscript materials consisting of correspondence and letterpress books belonging to eight of the observatory's directors, including directors' miscellany, notes, articles, correspondence, administrative files, notebooks, drawings, mechanical drawings, photographic prints and negatives, news releases, news clippings, a scrapbook, and both historical documents and articles. It also includes approximately 300 photographic images taken between 1850 and 1967, as well as photographs taken by Frank C. Jordan, director from 1939 through 1941, of family, friends, domestic scenes, and images of observatories in the United States.

Allan F. Jones' Pitt Football Team Photograph Collection, 1922, UA.9.10.F The 42 images in this collection feature the 1922 Pitt football team and coach Pop Warner.  All images are available online.

Nationality Rooms Program Files, 1926-1959,UA 40.1  The Nationality Rooms are a series of rooms within the Cathedral of Learning that represent the various ethnic groups that immigrated to Pittsburgh and built the city and its industries. Ruth Crawford Mitchell was appointed to direct the Nationality Rooms Program by Chancellor Bowman before the first spade of dirt was turned for the construction of the Cathedral.  For additional information about the rooms, please visit the Nationality Rooms online. There are 29 rooms with more in the planning stages.

Jonas Salk Polio Vaccine Collection, 1917-2005, UA.90.F89 Materials relating to the history of polio and the polio vaccine research and trials. Digital reproductions of some photographs are available online

Online Exhibits

            Featured here are 15 photographs from the University Archives. Among these are Bowl Champions, All-Americans, and Heismann Trophy Winners.