Skip to main content

Audio-Visual Resources @ Pitt Archives: Labor, Industry, and Unions

Guide to audio-visual collections at the Archives Service Center. Including information on rights and reproductions.

Steel

Bruce Drisbach-American American Steel & Wire Company Photograph Collection, 1915-1917, AIS.2001.02  Documents the construction of the American Steel & Wire Company and the housing for its workers. 125 photographic images are available online.

William J. Gaughan Collection, AIS.1994.03 This collections contains manuscript, photographic images, and motion picture film documenting the Homestead Steel Mill. Manuscript materials date from 1887 to 1988 and  photographic images covering 1892-1988. 560 Photographic images are available online.  Researchers may also be interested in another guide which discusses the resources held by the archives pertaining to the Homestead Steel Strike of 1892.

James H. Matthews Company Records, AIS.1965.17, 1864-1961 Series V. contains 63 gelatin silver prints documenting company outings in locations such as Olympia Amusement Park in McKeesport, Pa., Watson Park, Alameda Park, Homestead Park, other unidentified parks and the sightseeing boat, "St. James."

Industry

Rust Engineering Company Records, 1905-1989, AIS.2006.06 Over 400 photographs of construction sites and employees at work. A photo album from 1917 and 1918 captures the construction of structures for the steel industry in Alabama, including coal tipples, coke ovens, storage bins, screening plants, and blast furnaces. A selection of 70 images appear online.

CONSOL Energy Inc. Mine Maps and Records Collection, 1857-2010, AIS.1991.16  Contains 91 photographs depicting the Consolidation Coal Company (the forerunner of CONSOL Energy Inc.) and its operations during the 1930s and 1940s are available online. The images document mines and mining operations in places such as the Nickeson Mine, Vesta No. 4 Mine, as well as others from the Keefover, Greenlee, and Shannopin areas. Also included are views of miners at work, mine construction, views of the interiors of shafts, mine cars, barges carrying coal, and railroad cars filled with coal. 

 

 

Unions

UE News Photograph Collection, 1933-1998, UE.14.1  Over 7,000 photographic images used in the production of the UE News from 1933 to 1998, depicting UE conventions and local functions; plant openings; international labor tours; politicians and other union presidents; and general union members. Selections are available online.



Francis C. Shane Papers, 1942-1969, AIS.1996.03 Photographs documenting United Steelworkers of America events and civil rights demonstrations.

Industrial Union of Marine and Shipbuilding Workers of America Local 61 Records, 1943-1990, AIS.1989.05 Photographs of strikes and a Jesse Jackson rally afixed to posters.

Labor

Charles Owen Rice Papers, 1935-1998, AIS.1976.11Charles Owen Rice was a Roman Catholic priest who was active in the Pittsburgh community as well as the national labor and civil rights movements. He was involved as a journalist, director of the Catholic Radical Alliance of Pittsburgh, one of the founders and first chairman of the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Association of Catholic Trade Unionists (ACTU), and founder of St. Joseph's House of Hospitality (Pittsburgh). The collection includes correspondence, subject files, transcripts of radio broadcasts, manuscripts, case files, family papers, audiotapes, photographs and a film.

Union Switch and Signal Company Strike Photograph Collection, June 1914, AIS.1991.03: The Union Switch and Signal Company Strike Photograph Collection contains 90 black and white photographs documenting the June 1914 walkout of over 1,000 workers at the Union Switch and Signal Company plant in Swissvale, Pennsylvania. Also included is a strike bulletin distributed by the Allegheny Congenial Industrial Union, Local No. 2, on June 16, 1914. Digital reproductions of selected images are available online

African American Construction Workers of Pittsburgh Photograph Collection, 1956-1987, AIS.2006.13  Contains four photograph albums documenting equal representation of African Americans in the construction workforce of Pittsburgh. Subjects featured include Operation Dig, the Black Construction Coalition, and Nate Smith.