• Carnegie Museum of Art Collection of Photographs: Artistic images of mills, factories, street scenes, and portraits, as well as aerial shots of Downtown.
• Teenie Harris Photograph Collection: Daily life of black communities, including weddings, funerals, family portraits, church events, street scenes, businessmen, and mill workers.

• Chatham University Archives: Chronicles the students, faculty, and university community as academic pursuits, university events, student life and social activities have grown and changed throughout the university’s history.

• Historical Society of Upper St. Clair Image Collection: Documents the history of the township of Upper St. Clair, Pa. The images depict residents and families, schools, houses, major roads, local landmarks, and the overall development of the area from an agrarian community to the current day.

• Monroeville Historical Society's Photo Archives: Depicts street scenes and businesses; people; homes and farms; schools and churches, and community events and activities which have defined the history of Monroeville throughout the years.

• Northland Historical Image Collection: The construction and upgrades of county roads beginning in 1919 in the North Hills as well as the construction of North Park.

There are thousands of visual images available online through the Historic Pittsburgh Image Collections. This collaborative project, which brought together the Archives Service Center and many other area repositories, is part of the larger Historic Pittsburgh Project, which aims to document the history of Pittsburgh and the Western Pennsylvania region. Resources from our partners may be very helpful for your research; collections are listed here by the institution which holds them.

• Allegheny Conference on Community Development: Demolition and construction of buildings and infrastructure in the Pittsburgh metropolitan area.
• Charles M. Stotz Collection: Images documenting the buildings featured in Stotz’s 1936 book, The Early Architecture of Western Pennsylvania.
• Dorsey-Turfley Family Photographs: Images document several generations of the Dorsey and Turfley families as well as African American sports teams from the beginning decades of the twentieth century.
• F. Theodore Wagner Collection: Family, friends, neighbors, and everyday life in several Pittsburgh neighborhoods.
• Frederick T. Gretton Collection: Scenes of metropolitan Pittsburgh communities and steel mill facilities.
• Fuchs Family Papers and Photographs: Images primarily depict cadets from St. Joseph's Junior Military School as well as members of the Fuchs family.
• H.J. Heinz Company: Product images, factory floor views, plant interiors, and female workers.
• Hebrew Institute Photographs: Classes of students with identifying labels and dates; the laying of the cornerstone; the Hebrew Institute's first school bus.
• Irene Kaufmann Settlement Photograph Collection: Images illustrating the activities, programs, and physical environment of the settlement.
• James Benney III Collection: Urban and residential street scenes such as homes, churches, and commercial buildings.
• Jewish Sports Hall of Fame of Western Pennsylvania Photographs: Primarily basketball teams, but also include baseball, track, swimming, tennis, softball, and fencing from the Irene Kaufmann Settlement, Young Men and Women’s Hebrew Association, Pittsburgh Jewish Community Center, and various organized clubs.

• Jones and Laughlin Steel Corporation: Industrial facilities, products, transportation, mills, coal mines, and warehouses.
• Lyon, Shorb & Company: Male iron workers in work and formal attire.
• Mesta Machine Company: Manufacturing steel mill equipment and machinery, the construction of facilities.
• Montefiore Hospital Photographs: Images of hospital buildings, physicians, nurses, interns, and student nurses in both formal groups and work settings.
• Otto's Suburban Dairy Photographs: Images of buildings, employees, machinery, products, and vehicles; many of the photographs document machines and vehicles that the company was replacing with new models and technology.
• Pittsburgh, Fort Wayne, and Chicago Railway Company Photographs: Railroad construction projects; bridges and stations.
• Pittsburgh Public Schools: School buildings, events, students, teachers, parents, and board members.
• Richard E. Rauh Photographs: Images primarily depict Bertha Rauh, her family, and her swearing in as Director of Charities, later called the Pittsburgh Department of Public Welfare; others illustrate her efforts to transform Mayview Hospital into a modern psychiatric hospital.
• Seder Family Photographs: Images of the Frank and Seder clothing store, business associates, and Isaac Seder's family.
• Trimble Company: Building construction projects.
• William V. Winans, Jr. Photograph Collection: Civic Arena (later known as Mellon Arena) construction photographs.

• Oakmont Historical Image Collection: Photographs, postcards, and other images that visually document the growth and changing landscape of Oakmont.

• Pitcairn Historical Society's Photo Archives: Depicts street scenes; businesses and industries (in particular the Pennsylvania Railroad); people; homes; schools and churches; sports, and community organizations, events, and activities throughout the years in the Borough of Pitcairn.

• Frank B. Fairbanks Rail Transportation Archive: Documents train engines and stations in the western Pennsylvania area.

Point Park University Archives: Represents images illustrating the dynamic life of Point Park University and the surrounding area.

• Rodef Shalom Congregation Archives: Documents the congregation's historic buildings, rabbis, religious practices, and aspects of congregational life.