Skip to main content

Audio-Visual Resources @ Pitt Archives: Reproductions and Usage

Guide to audio-visual collections at the Archives Service Center. Including information on rights and reproductions.

Reproductions and Usage

Photographic prints, moving images and audio files from the Archives Service Center are typically available for reproduction. Anyone interested in ordering reproductions should consult our Ordering Reproductions Page for information on fees, policies, and to download the appropriate request form.

Credit cards are now accepted. Should you wish to pay by Visa or MasterCard, please call Miriam Meislik at 412-648-3096 or Laura Brooks at 412-648-3223 to arrange payment. 

We strongly encourage that you contact us prior to submitting requests to verify pricing and availability!!

High-resolution digital files are also available for all Archives Service Center content that appears on the Historic Pittsburgh website, as well as content available as part of any of our digital collections. Digitized content from our member institutions may also be available so please contact the specific repository for additional information.

Researchers can also request digital copies of archival photographs and other content that has not yet been digitized. 

Please see our Guidance on Copyright and the Use of ULS Collections page for additional help on issues related to copyright and collections.

 

Using Media Resources FAQ

I want to access material in the media collections. How do I do this?

To access photographic images, please check the Photographic Resources tab in this guide to see if what you need has already been digitized. We are continually adding to the online image collections. If you don't see what you need, please contact us and we will be happy to discuss your needs. 

To access audio or moving image resources, it is best that you contact us to discuss your research needs and to arrange an appointment. Listening to audio or viewing moving image content will need to be done at the Archives Service Center where special equipment is located.

I want to use something from the media collections. What do I need to do?

It is best to contact the archives directly to discuss what you would like to use and how you want to use it. This way we can advise you of any issues and fees that may pertain to that item or use. Please provide identification numbers for images and any other information that is pertinent to your request so we can provide accurate assistance.

When do I need permission? 

You may need permission to use content from the Archives in publications. This includes use in print, web, and all other media. The Archives may own the physical property, but may not be the intellectual property holder. Verification is key to avoiding infringement. Note that items appearing on our website are for informational and educational use only.

What if I'm not publishing the image or footage, just using it for personal reference? 

No permission is required, but we'd like to know about it for our records. However, should you decide to publish the image, please contact the Archives to discuss any restrictions or usage fees that may be required.

What if the image is just for a class presentation? Do I still need permission? 

In most cases you won't need permission (but again, we'd love to know about it!). This use is most likely covered under Section 107 of the Copyright law governing Fair Use.

What is Fair Use?

Fair Use, as described in section 107 of the copyright law, governs what part of a work may be used. It is important to evaluate your intended usage against this section. Infringement can have steep penalties. When in doubt, ask!

Useful Copyright Info

©

Copyright Information  Copyright links and guidance created by the ULS to help students answer important questions regarding usage. Also provided are links to bibliographic and database resources.

Copyright Quickstart  A copyright LibGuide created by the Martin Luther King Jr. Library at San Jose State University with many helpful tips and useful links.

Copyright Clearance Center  The Copyright Clearance Center has created this helpful checklist to help you determine if your use would qualify under Fair Use.

Copyright Information Center at Cornell University  A site developed by Cornell University to help answer copyright and fair use questions. Of particular note are the fair use guidelines and the article Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States, written by Peter Hirtle. 

Digital Copyright Slider  This slider offers guidance on copyright for works created in the United States. It was created by Michael Brewer and the ALA Office for Technology Policy and is shared under     .

Introduction to Intellectual Property Information on intellectual property, copyright, and trademark law created by the National Paralegal College containing terms to know, their definitions, and examples for each to help navigate the challenges in understanding the issues.

Association of Moving Images (AMIA) Information created by the AMIA Copyright Committee with resources regarding moving image copyright for the general public, the AMIA membership, committee members, and moving image production professionals.