Skip to main content

Intelligent Systems Orientation - Oakland Campus: Articles

This guide helps new students in the intelligent systems program become familiar with library resources and services.

Choosing a Database

When we refer to a 'database' in libraries, we are referring to online resources that index journals, journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and other content. These databases make it easy for users to search across multiple content types and content providers without having to search each provider individually. Some databases offer access to a broad variety of content, and are often good starting points for research. Other databases are subject specific and are useful for finding resources related to a specific field of research.

The type of database you choose for your research will depend on the type of project you are considering and the types of research questions you are trying to answer. In many cases, preliminary research to help formulate your research questions and solidify your research project can be best conducted in a general purpose database. On the other hand, if you have a solid research theme, working in a subject specific database often results in more in-depth content.

All of our databases offer multiple options for searching and refining search results, and many of the databases offer access to full-text articles.

Formulating Your Search Terms

With your research topic in hand you must formulate a search strategy. The first step in this process is to develop a set of search terms you will initially use to search for resources. You can draw an initial set of search terms from your thesis topic (e.g. multilingual processing AND information retrieval), but it may also be helpful to try some more specific search terms (e.g. machine learning), and possibly some broader terms (e.g. artificial intelligence).

Refining Your Search

It is highly unlikely that your first search will result in a perfect result set. Refining your search can return more relevant results, providing you with higher quality resources for your research. Use the tips below to refine your searches:

Core Computer Science Databases

Use the links below for subject specific databases in computer science.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Use the links below for core subject specific databases related to the intelligent systems program.

Finding Databases at Pitt

The University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS) subscribes to a large number of databases to help you find research materials. Use the links below to find the types of databases for which you are looking.

New Articles in Computer Science